Horton, Hanger, McCarter and Page earn Ice Bowl heat wins at Talladega


Pierce McCarter was the winner of the Hangover at 411 then set fast time for the Ice Bowl

The 31st annual Ice Bowl kicked off on Friday afternoon at the Talladega Short Track with Super Late Model qualifying which would be used to set heat race lineups for that division. Drivers were divided into two groups for qualifying with those making their time-trial efforts in Group A filling in the fields for the first and second heat races while those in Group B being entered into the third and fourth heats.

Heat races are set for Friday at the Eastaboga, Alabama track with B-main races and the 50-lap feature that will pay $6,000-to-win slated for Saturday. Michael Page of Douglasville, Georgia has won the Super Late Model portion of this race for five consecutive years which has resulted in a $1,500 bounty being placed on him.

Pierce McCarter of Gatlinburg, Tennessee followed up his win in the Hangover event at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tennessee on New Year’s Day by establishing the fastest over time in Super Late Model qualifying for the Ice Bowl in his MasterSbilt Race Car.

Austin Horton of Whitesburg, Georgia will start the Ice Bowl feature from the pole position on Saturday by virtue of his win in the first heat race.

A total of 30 cars were signed in for competition.

Please consider also reading “Ending Michael Page’s Ice Bowl Dominance Could Prove Rewarding

Austin Horton was fastest in Group A qualifying with a lap of 14.881 seconds around the third-mile clay oval besting Christian Hanger, Chase Oliver, Dillon Crim, Scott Crigler, John Ownbey, Sam Seawright, Luke Hoffner, Dillon Tidmore, Eric Hohol, Kirk Baker, Rucker Orr, Ryan Wilson, Jamie Oliver and Benjamin Cranford.

Pierce McCarter led the way in Group B time-trials and overall after he toured the track in 14.756 seconds to beat out Michael Page, Chris Jones, Dylan Knowles, Jerry Hendrix, Dallas Cooper, Dalton Polston, Andy Picklesimer, Tim Rozell, Chad Duncan, Ellery Leake, Tanner Collins, Justin Owens, Dewayne Kiefer and Kyle Bryant.

The top-4 from each heat race will transfer to Saturday’s feature race.

Austin Horton will start from the pole

Heat 1 Lineup: 1. Austin Horton, 2. Chase Oliver, 3. Scott Crigler, 4. Sam Seawright, 5. Dillon Tidmore, 6. Kirk Baker, 7. Ryan Wilson, 8. Benjamin Cranford

Heat 1 Finish: 1. Horton, 2. Oliver, 3. Seawright, 4. Crigler … Tidmore, Baker, Wilson

Heat 2 Lineup: 1. Christian Hanger, 2. Dillon Crim, 3. John Ownbey, 4. Luke Hoffner, 5. Eric Hohol, 6. Rucker Orr, 7. Jamie Oliver

Heat 2 Finish: 1. Hanger, 2. Crim, 3. Ownbey, 4. Hoffner … Hohol, Orr, Oliver

Heat 3 Lineup: 1. Pierce McCarter, 2. Chris Jones, 3. Jerry Hendrix, 4. Dalton Polston. 5. Tim Roszell, 6. Ellery Leake, 7. Justin Owens, 8. Kyle Bryant

Heat 3 Finish: 1. McCarter, 2. Jones, 3. Polston, 4. Roszell … Leake, Owens, Bryant

Heat 4 Lineup: 1. Michael Page, 2. Dylan Knowles, 3. Dallas Cooper, 4. Andy Picklesimer, 5. Chad Duncan, 6. Tanner Collins, 7. Dewayne Keifer

Heat 4 Finish: 1. Page, 2. Knowles, 3. Cooper, 4. Picklesimer … Duncan, Collins, Kiefer

B-Main 1 Finish: 1. Dillon Tidmore, 2. Kirk Baker, 3. Rucker Orr, 4. Ryan Wilson

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Tanner Collins, 2. Chad Duncan, 3. Dewayne Kiefer, 4. Ellery Leake

Feature Lineup: 1. Austin Horton, 2. Pierce McCarter, 3. Christian Hanger, 4. Michael Page, 5. Chase Oliver, 6. Chris Jones, 7. Dillon Crim, 8. Dylan Knowles, 9. Sam Seawright, 10. Dalton Polston, 11. John Ownbey, 12. Dallas Cooper, 13. Scott Crigler, 14. Tim Roszell, 15. Luke Hoffner, 16. Andy Picklesimer, 17. Dillon Tidmore, 18. Tanner Collins, 19. Kirk Baker, 20. Chad Duncan, 21. Rucker Orr, 22. Dewayne Kiefer, 23. Ryan Wilson, 24. Ellery Leake

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.