Live Updates: XR Super Series at Bristol Motor Speedway(4-2-22)

Facebooktwitter will be providing live updates from the XR Super Series/Valvoline Iron-Man Late Model Series co-sanctioned $50,000-to-win Karl Kustoms Bristol Dirt Nationals event at Bristol Motor Speedway in Bristol, Tennessee on Saturday, April 2, 2022. These updates will be provided by Richard Allen(@RichardAllenIDR on Twitter and @RichardAllenIDR on Instagram).

These updates are brought to you by Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. The next race scheduled for SMS will be dual $5,000-to-win ‘Rockin With the Stars’ features for the Southern All-Stars Dirt Late Model Series and the Steel Block Bandits Late Model Series on April 23rd. Also, be sure to make plans now to attend the $50,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event on the weekend of June 17-18, 2022.

Weather Forecast: Cloudy and cool with daytime highs in the 50s and nighttime lows in the 30s.

Time: Hot laps are scheduled to 7:00pm

Feature Payout: $50,000

Track Description: Half-mile clay oval

Other Classes:

Live Stream:

Pre-race Notes: Chris Madden has won two of the three XR Super Series $50,000 features held so far while Chris Ferguson won the other.

The overall points champion for the four nights will receive a bonus of $100,000.

If Madden were to win tonight’s feature, he will have collected a total of more than $250,000 for the four nights.

Madden leads the Bristol Dirt Nationals standings with 268 points over Ricky Weiss(256), Dale McDowell(251), Chris Ferguson(250) and Jonathan Davenport(250).

7:15- Hot laps now underway.

Please also consider reading:

What does it feel like driving a Dirt Late Model at Bristol?

Live Updates:

XR Super Series

Car Count: 28 cars

Drivers Here: 0- Scott Bloomquist, 1- Brandon Sheppard, 6- Kyle Larson, 7w- Ricky Weiss, 8- Kyle Strickler, 9- Devin Moran, 10- Garrett Smith, 10- Joseph Joiner, 17- Tim Vance, 17m- Dale McDowell, 17ss- Brenden Smith, 20- Jimmy Owens, 20RT- Ricky Thornton Jr., 21k- Dakotah Knuckles, 22- Chris Ferguson, 25- Shane Clanton, 29- Darrell Lanigan, 37- Cody Lowe, 40B- Kyle Bronson, 44- Chris Madden, 46- Earl Pearson Jr., 46P- Jason Papich, 49- Jonathan Davenport, 58- Mark Whitener, 76- Brandon Overton, 79- Ross Bailes, 89- Ashton Winger, 157- Mike Marlar

Qualifying Results: There will be two qualifying groups.

Group A Results- 1. Strickler(14.993), 2. Larson(15.157), 3. Overton, 4. Ferguson, 5. McDowell, 6. Pearson

Group B Results- 1. Weiss(14.982), 2. Marlar, 3. Sheppard, 4. Madden, 5. Lanigan, 6. Bailes

Heat Race Results: There will be four heat races with the top-4 transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Lineup- 1. Strickler, 2. Overton, 3. McDowell, 4. Bloomquist, 5. Owens, 6. Papich, 7. B Smith

Heat 1 Finish– 1. Strickler, 2. Overton, 3. McDowell, 4. Bloomquist

Heat 2 Lineup- 1. Larson, 2. Ferguson, 3. Pearson, 4. Davenport, 5. Bronson, 6. Moran, 7. Joiner

Heat 2 Finish– 1. Larson, 2. Ferguson, 3. Pearson, 4. Bronson

Heat 3 Lineup- 1. Weiss, 2. Sheppard, 3. Lanigan, 4. Knuckles, 5. Winger, 6. Clanton, 7. Vance

Heat 3 Finish–  1. Weiss, 2. Sheppard, 3. Clanton, 4. Lanigan

Heat 4 Lineup- 1. Marlar, 2. Madden, 3. Bailes, 4. Thornton, 5. Whitener, 6. G Smith, 7. Lowe

Heat 4 Finish– 1. Whitener, 2. G Smith, 3. Madden, 4. Bailes

*Madden won the fourth heat but was docked two positions for a ‘Droop Rule’ violation.

*Marlar had a hard crash while lead the heat with 4 laps remaining.

10:40- Doing some track prep.

B-main Results: 1. Owens, 2. Thornton, 3. Davenport, 4. Moran, 5. Knuckles, 6. Joiner

Feature Notes:

***Chris Madden has been docked two spots in his heat race finish for a ‘Droop Rule’ violation***

Feature Lineup- 1. Strickler, 2. Weiss, 3. Larson, 4. Whitener, 5. Overton, 6. Sheppard, 7. Ferguson, 8. G Smith, 9. McDowell, 10. Clanton, 11. Pearson, 12. Madden, 13. Bloomquist, 14. Lanigan, 15. Bronson, 16. Bailes, 17. Owens, 18. Thornton, 19. Davenport, 20. Moran, 21. Knuckles, 22. Joiner

11:03- Feature rolling out. 50 laps for $50,000.

11:05- Four wide!

Before the green flag, Larson comes to the pits.

11:09- Green flag with Larson still on pit road.

Lap 2 caution for Overton off the pace. Weiss leads Strickler, Whitener, Ferguson, McDowell, Sheppard, Bloomquist, Pearson

Larson did rejoin the field and will restart from the rear.

Lap 10- Weiss leads McDowell, Whitener, Bloomquist and Strickler

Lap 20- Weiss has McDowell right on his spoiler. Whitener, Bloomquist, Strickler and Madden follow.

Lap 29- McDowell passes Weiss for the lead. Whitener, Bloomquist, Strickler, Madden, Bronson, Ferguson follow

Lap 32 caution for Moran into the outside wall. McDowell leads Weiss, Whitener, Bloomquist, Madden, Bronson, Ferguson, Bailes, G Smith

Lap 35 caution for Weiss flat tire. He had been racing with Bloomquist.

McDowell leads Whitener, Strickler, Bloomquist, Madden, Ferguson, Thornton, Owens

Lap 37 caution for Strickler stopped on track. McDowell leads Whitener, Madden, Bloomquist, Ferguson, Bailes, Pearson, Owens

Weiss came to the pit area but returns.

Lap 40- McDowell leads Madden, Ferguson, Bloomquist, Owens

McDowell drove away after the lap 37 restart.

Madden won the $100,000 bonus as the points champion for the four races held at Bristol.

Feature Results: 1. Dale McDowell, 2. Chris Madden, 3. Chris Ferguson, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Jimmy Owens, 6. Earl Pearson Jr., 7. Darrell Lanigan, 8. Ross Bailes, 9. Garrett Smith, 10. Ricky Weiss, 11. Brandon Sheppard, 12. Kyle Bronson, 13. Mark Whitener, 14. Kyle Strickler, 15. Ricky Thornton Jr., 16. Dakotah Knuckles,17. Jonathan Davenport, 18. Devin Moran, 19. Joseph Joiner, 20. Jason Papich, 21. Kyle Larson, 22. Brandon Overton, 23. Shane Clanton, 24. Mike Marlar

Ricky Weiss(7) and Brandon Sheppard(1) will be among those racing for $50,000


Comments are closed.