Riley Hickman scores Friday afternoon Late Model win at 411


Riley Hickman drove this David Duplissey-owned CVR Race Car to a win for the second time at 411

Following a rain out of the Leftover races traditionally held on the weekend following Thanksgiving the 411 Motor Speedway opted to turn their Hangover event into a two-day affair with multiple classes on the agenda. Picking up where he left off with his win in the Crate Late Model Nationals back in November, it was Riley Hickman who left the Seymour, Tenn. facility with the first place prize of $1,000 and the benefit of momentum going into Saturday’s contests.

Riley Hickman led the way in qualifying for the 604 Crate Late Models as he turned a lap of 14.459 seconds around the 3/8 mile clay oval to beat out Brad Lowe, Jesse Lowe, Eli Beets, Zach Sise, Bryant Marsh, Will Blankenship, Jason Cardwell and Greg Johnson.

Ruben Mayfield and Clyde Stanton won the two B-main races used to set the remainder of the starting lineup.

At the start of the 25-lap feature it was Hickman who darted to the lead with Brad Lowe, Jesse Lowe, Beets and Sise in tow. Jesse Lowe quickly moved to better his position as he wrested second away from Brad Lowe on lap 2. One lap later Brad Lowe’s slide continued as Beets drove by to take third then Sise grabbed fourth away from the falling Lowe machine.

On lap 4, Brad Lowe’s troubles came to a head as he spun in turn two and eventually had to restart from the tail of the field.

On the lap 4 restart it was Hickman who would again assert himself as the race leader while Sise took third away from Beets. On lap 6 Cardwell began a climb toward the front of the field as he moved around Beets to seize fourth.

Beets and Cardwell again exchanged fourth following a lap 9 restart with Cardwell returning the favor on a lap 12 return to green flag racing.

As Hickman continued to lead over the closing laps, Jesse Lowe remained within striking distance but the No. D2 David Duplissey-owned machine was ultimately too much for the rest of the pack to handle as Hickman cruised under the checkered flag for the win.

Feature Finish: 1. Riley Hickman, 2. Jesse Lowe, 3. Jason Cardwell, 4. Eli Beets, 5. Zach Sise, 6. Greg Johnson, 7. Ronnie Johnson, 8. Bryant Marsh, 9. Brandon Miller, 10. Rusty Ballenger, 11. Donald McIntosh, 12. Clyde Stanton

*Final results are incomplete

Riley Hickman


Comments are closed.