Late pass gives Cory Hedgecock Crate Racin’ USA win and Winter Shootout title

Cory Hedgecock in his BMF Race Car

Coming into any race at 411 Motor Speedway it is always a good bet to pick Cory Hedgecock as a potential winner. And that indeed proved to be the case on Saturday afternoon in the Sweetheart event at that facility when the driver of the No. 23 car used a late race pass for the lead to not only secure a Crate Racin’ USA Series feature win but also the Winter Shootout Series championship.

The BMF Race Cars driver from Loudon, Tennessee earned $3,023 at the track located in Seymour, Tennessee.

Hedgecock was also crowned as the Winter Shootout Series champion.

A total of 38 cars were signed in for competition.

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Cory Hedgecock(14.476), 2. Brandon Miller, 3. Mitchell Stanley, 4. Jason Welshan, 5. Mack McCarter

Group B Results- 1. Hayden Cardwell(14.780), 2. Matthew Smith, 3. Tucker Anderson, 4. Bailey Cardwell, 5. Heath Alvey

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Brodie Sharp, 2. Addison Cardwell, 3. Bradley Lewelling, 4. Mario Gresham, 5. Rye Faulk, 6. Tyler Price

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Rusty Ballenger, 2. Chip Brindle, 3. Kyle Courtney, 4. Brian Smith, 5. Joe Mike, 6. Daniel Dial

Feature Re-cap: The 40-lap feature took the green flag with Cardwell leading Hedgecock, Miller, Welshan and Matthew Smith. Welshan looked to move forward immediately as he passed Miller for third. One lap later McCarter entered the top-5 when he got around Miller.

The top-3 of Cardwell, Hedgecock and Welshan ran in tight formation when they ran into slower traffic on lap 9. Shortly thereafter, Cardwell and Hedgecock began to slip away from their pursuers as they made bold move to get through lapped cars.

A lap 19 caution for a spin by Matthew Smith slowed the pace. On the restart, Cardwell continued to lead ahead of Hedgecock, Welshan and McCarter while Ballenger also entered the top-5.

Traffic again became a factor on lap 27 with the top-3 running in tight formation. On lap 30, Cardwell was running in the high lane when he found himself trapped behind a slower car opening the door for Hedgecock to drive underneath and grab the lead.

Cardwell closed back in and issued a challenge in hopes of retaking the lead but Hedgecock was able to hold on and eventual sail under the checkered fag to claim the win.

Feature Results: 1. Cory Hedgecock, 2. Hayden Cardwell, 3. Jason Welshan, 4. Mack McCarter, 5. Rusty Ballenger, 6. Heath Alvey, 7. Chip Brindle, 8. Tucker Anderson, 9. Brandon Miller, 10. Mario Gresham, 11. Bradley Lewelling, 12. Mitchell Stanley, 13. Addison Cardwell, 15. Brian Smith, 16. Rye Faulk, 17. Tyler Price, 18. Brodie Sharp, 19. Daniel Dial, 20. Keaton Smith, 21. Joe Mike, 22. Matthew Smith, 23. Kyle Courtney, 24. Jake Knowles

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.