Last lap pass nets Bobby Pierce a WoO Late Models win at Volusia

Bobby Pierce passed Brandon Overton on the last lap

After having engine woes that ruined his efforts in the Sunshine Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park last month Bobby Pierce used a last lap on Brandon Overton to claim at World of Outlaws CASE Construction Late Model Series win on Thursday night. It was the first win of the week in the Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals in a caution free event for the No. 32 team.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Oakwood, Illinois earned $10,000 for his efforts on the Barberville, Florida track in a race shown live by

A total of 56 cars were signed in for competition.

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Brandon Overton(15.902), 2. Dale McDowell, 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Nick Hoffman, 5. Ashton Winger, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Hudson O’Neal, 8. Max Blair, 9. Chris Madden, 10. Brent Larson

Group B Results- 1. Brian Shirley(16.194), 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Gordy Gundaker, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Mason Zeigler, 6. Chase Junghans, 7. Ricky Thornton Jr., 8. Jonathan Davenport, 9. Todd Cooney, 10. Kyle Strickler

Heat 1 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Nick Hoffman

Heat 2 Results: 1. Dale McDowell, 2. Max Blair, 3. Devin Moran

Heat 3 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Kyle Bronson 

Heat 4 Results: 1. Brian Shirley, 2. Kyle Strickler, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr.

Heat 5 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Mason Zeigler

Heat 6 Results: 1. Chase Junghans, 2. Gordy Gundaker, 3. Daulton Wilson 

Last Chance Showdown 1 Finish: 1. Mark Whitener, 2. Frank Heckenast Jr.

Last Chance Showdown 2 Finish: 1. Ryan Gustin, 2. Chris Madden

Last Chance Showdown 3 Finish: 1. Mike Norris, 2. Johnny Scott

WoO Late Models Redraw Results: 1. Overton, 2. Junghans, 3. McDowell, 4. Pierce, 5. Shirley, 6. McCreadie

Feature Re-cap: At the start 30-lap feature Overton went to the front leaving the likes of Pierce, McCreadie, Junghans and McDowell to battle for the remaining top-5 positions. By lap 5, Overton was pulling away and looking as if he might make easy work of the feature race. 

Further back, O’Neal joined the fray as he and McDowell wrestled for the fifth position behind the top-4 cars who were stuck on the bottom of the race track.

With all the green flag laps, traffic became a factor in the race by lap 10 which allowed Pierce and McCreadie to close in on the leader. Those three cars staged a fierce battle among the slower machines jockeying for position as the laps clicked toward the halfway mark.

As the race began to wind toward its conclusion, Pierce closed right to the rear spoiler of Overton’s car. With the white flag in sight, Overton moved high in an attempt to pass a slower car. That move proved to be disastrous as it lef the bottom open for Pierce who seized the opportunity.

As the lead duo went through turns one and two for the final time, Overton’s car pushed high allowing Pierce to claim the spot. However, Overton fought back in turns three and four to make a valiant effort to retake the position. At the checkered flag, it was Pierce taking the win by less than a car length.

Feature Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Brandon Overton, 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Chase Junghans, 5. Hudson O’Neal, 6. Dale McDowell, 7. Jonathan Davenport, 8. Max Blair, 9. Ricky Thornton Jr., 10. Mason Zeigler, 11. Dennis Erb Jr., 12. Devin Moran, 13. Kyle Bronson, 14. Kyle Strickler, 15. Chris Madden, 16. Brian Shirley, 17. Ryan Gustin, 18. Brandon Sheppard, 19. Gordy Gundaker, 20. Nick Hoffman, 21. Mike Norris, 22. Daulton Wilson, 23. Johnny Scott, 24. Brent Larson, 25. Frank Heckenast Jr., 26. Tanner English, 27. Shane Clanton, 28. Payton Freeman, 29. Mark Whitener

Please consider also reading:

There can’t possibly be 19 different winners again … right?

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.