Jonathan Davenport shows championship form with Flo win at Brownstown


Jonathan Davenport scored a dominating victory at Brownstown

Defending FloRacing Night in America Series champion Jonathan Davenport showed why he was last season’s titlist by turning in a dominating performance in the season’s second race at Brownstown Speedway on Wednesday night. The victory served as a lucrative follow-up to the $50,000 triumph he scored last weekend at All-Tech Raceway in Florida.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Blairsville, Georgia picked a $22,022 payday for his efforts on the quarter-mile Indiana track in a race shown live by

A total of 47 cars were signed in for competition.

Group A Qualifying Results: 1. Mike Marlar(13.355), 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Payton Freeman, 5. Stormy Scott, 6. Dustin Linville, 7. Tim McCreadie, 8. Sam Seawright

Group B Qualifying Results: 1. Brandon Overton(13.683), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Ashton Winger, 4. Jeremy Shaw, 5. Dylan Thompson, 6. Garrett Alberson, 7. Hudson O’Neal, 8. Josh Rice

Heat 1 Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Brian Shirley

Heat 2 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Ryan Gustin, 3. Sam Seawright, 4. Shane Clanton

Heat 3 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Jeremy Shaw, 3. Ashton Winger, 4. Josh Rice

Heat 4 Results: 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Kyle Larson, 4. Spencer Hughes

B-main 1 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Shannon Babb

B-main 2 Results: 1. Devin Gilpin, 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Tyler Erb

Feature Re-cap: The 50-lap feature got underway with Marlar leading ahead of Davenport, Overton, Pierce and Sheppard. Shaw moved by Sheppard for fifth on theĀ  second lap. One lap later, Pierce took third away from Overton.

Davenport began to pressure Marlar for the race lead until the No. 49 passed by on lap 5. However, a caution for the slowing car of O’Neal on lap 7.

Pierce moved to second on the restart as Davenport continued to lead. Marlar, Overton and Shaw rounded out the top-5.

Davenport began to slip away building a lead of two seconds over Pierce on lap 15. But slower traffic would begin to become a factor by lap 20. However, Davenport kept his advantage as he put cars one lap in arrears.

Further back, Tuesday night’s winner, Larson, burst into the top-5 by passing Shaw pulling Sheppard along. The NASCAR champion then closed in on the battle for third between Marlar and Overton. Up front, Davenport’s lead was up to four seconds.

The final 43 laps ran under caution with Davenport controlling the event right down to the checkered flag to score the win.

“I didn’t know how big of a lead I had,” Davenport told in victory lane. “I could see Jason, my crew guy, give me the lead but you never know how much you’ve got because I could just barely see him. I felt like I was struggling with the lapped cars. I’d get hung behind each one of them for several laps so I don’t know if the other cars were having that problem too. My car felt pretty good there.”

Feature Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Mike Marlar, 4. Brandon Overton, 5. Kyle Larson, 6. Ryan Gustin, 7. Branon Sheppard, 8. Jeremy Shaw, 9. Shane Clanton, 10. Ricky Thornton Jr., 11. Ashton Winger, 12. Stormy Scott, 13. Garrett Alberson, 14. Spencer Hughes, 15. Tim McCreadie, 16. Hudson O’Neal, 17. Tyler Erb, 18. Payton Freeman, 19. Brian Shirley, 20. Jared Bailey, 21. Josh Rice, 22. Devin Gilpin, 23. Shannon Babb

Kyle Larson dominates FloRacing feature at Eldora

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.