Brent Marks wins WoO lead swapping battle at Charlotte

Brent Marks

In a thriller that saw multiple lead changes on Friday night in the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series feature at The Dirt Track at Charlotte it was Brent Marks who would eventually rule the day to claim the World Finals victory. It was the second win on this track for the driver of the No. 19 car.

The Murray-Marks Motorsports driver from Myerstown, Pennsylvania earned $15,000 for his efforts on the track located in Concord, NC.

A total of 53 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. David Gravel(14.163), 2. Brian Brown, 3. Chase Randall, 4. Justin Henderson, 5. Rico Abreu, 6. Giovanni Scelzi, 7. Carson Macedo, 8. Zeb Wise, 9. Brad Sweet, 10. Spencer Bayston

Group B Results- 1. Brent Marks(14.149), 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Austin McCarl, 4. Anthony Macri, 5. Hunter Schuerenberg, 6. Sheldon Haudenschild, 7. James McFadden, 8. Justin Peck, 9. Logan Schuchart, 10. Cory Eliason  

Heat 1 Results: 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Chase Randall, 3. David Gravel, 4. Carson Macedo, 5. Cole Macedo

Heat 2 Results: 1. Brian Brown, 2. Justin Henderson, 3. Brad Sweet, 4. Giovanni Scelzi, 5. Cap Henry

Heat 3 Results: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Austin McCarl, 3. James McFadden, 4. Logan Schuchart, 5. Kasey Kahne

Heat 4 Results: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Justin Peck, 3. Sheldon Haudenschild, 4. Anthony Macri, 5. Cory Eliason

C-Main Results: 1. Sye Lynch, 2. Noah Gass

Last Chance Showdown Finish: 1. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2. Spencer Bayston, 3. Skylar Gee, 4. Parker Price-Miller

WoO Dash Results: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Brian Brown, 4. Justin Henderson, 5. Justin Peck, 6. Rico Abreu, 7. Chase Randall, 8. Austin McCarl

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 25-lap main event it was Marks who went to the early lead over Courtney, Peck, Brown and McFadden. Championship contenders Sweet and Gravel found themselves 6th and 10th respectively after 10 laps. 

McFadden and Sweet drove by Brown to take fourth and fifth respectively on lap 8.

Courtney passed Marks on lap 10 to grab the lead. But he would not hold it long as Peck took the top spot on lap 13. Marks moved back around Courtney on lap 14 for second, Then one lap later, Marks bolted back to the race lead by passing Peck.

Over the closing circuits, Peck kept Marks in his sights, but in the end, Marks held off a final turn charge from Peck to win the race to the checkered flag.

Feature Results: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Justin Peck, 3. Tyler Courtney, 4. Brad Sweet, 5. James McFadden, 6. David Gravel, 7. Sheldon Haudenschild, 8. Rico Abreu, 9. Giovanni Scelzi, 10. Justin Henderson, 11. Carson Macedo, 12. Brian Brown, 13. Donny Schatz, 14. Spencer Bayston, 15. Chase Randall, 16. Cole Macedo, 17. Austin McCarl, 18. Cory Eliason, 19. Anthony Macri, 20. Parker Price-Miller, 21. Cap Henry, 22. Kasey Kahne, 23. Logan Schuchart, 24. Robbie Price, 25. Noah Gass, 26. Hunter Schuerenberg, 27. Brock Zearfoss, 28. Skylar Gee

Please consider also reading:

Ricky Thornton Jr. rolls to WoO Late Models victory at Charlotte

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out

Comments are closed.