Bobby Pierce ends Davenport’s Wild West Shootout streak with Friday win

Bobby Pierce got his first win in a Longhorn

Bobby Pierce did what had not been done in the first three races of the Wild West Shootout at Vado Speedway Park when he beat out Jonathan Davenport for the win. The Friday night feature proved to be the first win in a new car for the driver known as the ‘Smooth Operator’ and it also ended the possibility of Davenport claiming a $300,000 bonus for winning all six features in this mini-series.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Oakwood, Illinois earned $10,000 for his efforts at the Vado, New Mexico track in a race shown live by

A total of 51 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Jonathan Davenport(14.177), 2. Mikey Kyle, 3. Dustin Sorensen, 4. Cade Dillard, 5. Billy Moyer Sr.

Group B Results- 1. Brandon Sheppard(14.294), 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Don Shaw, 5. Tad Pospisil

Heat 1 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Cade Dillard, 3. Ricky Weiss

Heat 2 Results: 1. Billy Moyer Sr., 2. Mikey Kile, 3. Tyler Erb

Heat 3 Results: 1. Dustin Sorensen, 2. Dillon McCowan, 3. Johnny Scott

Heat 4 Results: 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Mike Marlar, 3. Terry Phillips

Heat 5 Results: 1. Garrett Alberson, 2. Tad Pospisil, 3. Rusty Schlenk

Heat 6 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Kyle Beard, 3. Clayton Stuckey

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Stormy Scott, 2. Bill Leighton, 3. Justin Duty

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Don Shaw, 3. Morgan Bagley

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 30-lap feature it was Davenport who bolted to the lead ahead of Alberson and Sheppard. Sheppard and Alberson exchanged the runner-up position on laps 2 and 3 before Alberson regained the spot. 

Pierce began charging toward the front on lap 6 as he passed by Sheppard for third and then moved around Alberson one lap later. At that time, Davenport had built an advantage of two seconds until a caution for a crash involving Beard on lap 8.

On the restart, Pierce and Alberson engaged in a fierce fight for second just behind Davenport. Both of those drivers stayed right on the rear spoiler of the race leader as Marlar pulled himself into the battle.

On lap 18, Pierce passed Davenport for the race lead but Davenport fought back. Further back, 20th starting Larson had worked his way into the top-5 with less than 10 laps remaining.

On lap 23, Pierce bult a lead of 10 car lengths until a bobble allowed Davenport to close back in. Larson took fourth from Sheppard just before a yellow flag was shown to the field when McCowan suffered a flat tire. Davenport made a bid to get by Pierce on the restart but Pierce held on and ultimately sailed under the checkered flag for the win.

Feature Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Garrett Alberson, 4. Kyle Larson, 5. Ricky Weiss, 6. Mike Marlar, 7. Cade Dillard, 8. Johnny Scott, 9. Tad Pospisil, 10. Bill Leighton, 11. Morgan Bagley, 12. Stormy Scott, 13. Rusty Schlenk, 14. Mikey Kile, 15. Brandon Sheppard, 16. Dillon McCowan, 17. Dustin Sorensen, 18. Clayton Stuckey, 19. Billy Moyer Sr., 20. Tyler Erb, 21. Terry Phillips, 22. Kyle Beard, 23. Justin Duty, 24. Don Shaw

Please consider also reading:

Longhorn’s domination of Wild West Shootout has been absolute

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.