Bobby Pierce charges to Knoxville preliminary win on Friday night

Bobby Pierce(32) outdueled Brandon Overton(76) for the win

Bobby Pierce did not have the night he hoped for on Thursday at the Knoxville Raceway as he failed to make the feature, but on night two of the three-part Knoxville Late Model Nationals, the driver of the No. 32 charged to victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event.

The Bob Pierce Race Cars driver from Oakwood, Illinois earned $7,000 for his triumph on the half-mile track located in Knoxville, Iowa in a race aired live by

Points earned by drivers during the action held on Thursday and Friday will go toward setting lineups for Saturday’s racing action.

A total of 43 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Tyler Bruening(17.778), 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Garrett Alberson, 4. Earl Pearson Jr., 5. Chris Simpson, 6. Chris Madden, 7. Hudson O’Neal, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. Shane Clanton, 10. Spencer Hughes

Group B Results-  1. Tad Pospisil(17.717), 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Spencer Diercks, 6. Brandon Overton, 7. Jonathan Davenport, 8. Ricky Weiss, 9. Ryan Gustin, 10. Daniel Hilsabeck

Heat 1 Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Tyler Bruening, 3. Chris Simpson, 4. Brian Shirley

Heat 2 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Jimmy Owens, 3. Earl Pearson Jr., 4. Spencer Hughes

Heat 3 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Kyle Strickler, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Spencer Diercks 

Heat 4 Results:  1. Daniel Hilsabeck, 2. Brandon Overton, 3. Frank Heckenast Jr., 4. Tim McCreadie

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Chase Junghans, 4. Tyler Erb

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Ricky Weiss, 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Aaron Marrant 

Feature Re-cap: The 25-lap feature took the green flag with Overton leading Simpson, Pearson, Bruening and Pierce. It would be Pierce who went on the charge immediately when he passed Bruening for fourth on the second circuit. Thornton followed through also passing Bruening to take fifth. 

Pierce’s charge continued when, on lap 5, he took third away from Pearson while Bruening and Thornton battled for fifth further back.

Pierce then took second from Simpson on lap 7 then, two laps later, moved to the outside of Overton to capture the lead. Simpson moved back to second when he got around Overton on lap 13 just before a yellow flag came out for an incident involving Erb.

On the ensuing restart, Overton went back to second and moved in to challenge Pierce for the lead. Further back, Thornton, Bruening and Simpson fought over the remaining spots in the top-5.

Thornton moved up to take second from Overton on lap 19 then immediately set out after Pierce. Over the closing laps, Pierce maintained the lead and eventually sailed under the checkered flag to score the win.

Feature Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Chris Simpson, 4. Brandon Overton, 5. Tyler Bruening, 6. Ricky Weiss, 7. Hudson O’Neal, 8. Jonathan Davenport, 9. Tim McCreadie, 10. Jimmy Owens, 11. Brian Shirley, 12. Earl Pearson Jr., 13. Spencer Hughes, 14. Brandon Sheppard, 15. Garrett Alberson, 16. Kyle Strickler, 17. Tad Pospisil, 18. Chase Junghans, 19. Chris Madden, 20. Spencer Diercks, 21. Frank Heckenast Jr., 22. Daniel Hilsabeck, 23. Tyler Erb, 24. Aaron Marrant

Please consider also reading:

Shane Clanton claims first night of Knoxville Late Model Nationals

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.