Southern All-Stars set for B.J. Parker Memorial at Talladega


Payton Freeman leads the Southern All Stars standings

Aug. 9, 2021

SAS Hall OF Fame Inductees

Rex Richey won the Series Championship in 1989 and 2001. He would go on to win fifteen races and pick up the 1988 Rookie of the year Honors. He was main stay on the series for 20 years driving his father’s equipment.

Stan Massey was a staple on the series win the tour would come to Dixie Speedway, Rome Speedway, Talladega Short Track, Green Valley Speedway, and Talladega Short Track where he captured wins and many top 5s over his tenure.

Randy Weaver won three series Championships in 2008, 2009, and 2012. He picked 21 wins with the series including a five race winning streak in 2015.

Monty Morrow was a long time promoter at the Cleveland Speedway and North Georgia Speedway. He ran total of 101 Races with series throughout the 90s and 2000s.

Charlie Edwards is the only promoter to run both Dirt and Asphalt events with the series during his time as promoter at Senoia Raceway and 7 Flags Speedway. He was a huge staple on the Asphalt days of the series.

Mike Oliver was the 1992 and 93 champion of the Southern All Stars asphalt series. Mike drove the car number 41. Mike was the first back to back SAS series champion and had numerous wins racing on the series through the years. Mike started racing at Huntsville Motor Speedway in the 80’s and was known for how to move racers in front of him with out spinning them out. Mike has retired from racing and is owner of Oliver Tire’s.

Dan Beddingfield was the driver of car number 44. Dan was the 1994 Southern All Stars asphalt series champion and Rookie of the year in the same year. Dan started his racing at Huntsville Motor Speedway  on a 1/4 mile and he was competitive at the 1/4 mile track’s that the series visited where he earned 3 wins. Dan Beddingfield retired from racing and is retired from Huntsville Fire Department.

Tony Walls was champion of the SAS asphalt series in 1998 he drove the car number 81 and the car number 1 when driving for Frankie Grill. Tony also started his racing career at HMS where he had won numerous races before running the SAS asphalt series. Tony was a competitor on the series for many years during the generation of the series with over 40 wins.
Tony passed away November 2013.

James (Cotton) Varner,
Cotton was officiating at BIR and Montgomery when he started with the SAS series in 1991 and retired from racing and the series in 1996.
Cotton was the head SAS asphalt series official for those years.
Cotton passed away January 2013.

Shorty Bearden was a long time supporter of the SAS asphalt and dirt series. Shorty work with SONOCO racing fuel and SONOCO was the official fuel for the SAS asphalt and still is on the dirt series. Shorty always made sure that the drivers would have fuel at the tracks even if he had to drive the tanker truck himself.


RACE: BJ Parker Memorial 4th Annual Governor’s Cup
Talladaga Short Track
4343 Speedway Boulevard
Eastaboga, Al. 36260

Last event: Aug. 15 2020
Winner: Tyler Millwood

DATE:    Saturday, Aug.14, 2021
TIME:    Pit gates open at 3:00 EST          Grandstands at 5pm
TRACK LAYOUT:    1/3 mile High Banked Clay Oval
EVENT SCHEDULE:    6:30 PM Driver Meeting,  Registration Ends

Hot Laps Immediately After Drivers Meeting (7:00 PM)
Hot Laps (3-5 laps)

ENTRY FEE: $110.00
HOOSIER 1350, 1600 OR 70
CRATE 21 OR 55


Procedure: The starting field is set for 24 cars, including provisionals. There will be 2 SUNOCO Race Fuels/Knowles Race Parts qualifying groups A & B with the top 5 qualifier from each group locked in. PPM Racing Products B Mains will determine up to 22 starters with the final two spots for highest driver in the 2020 Southern All Star Dirt Racing points standings.

Saturday, Aug. 14
60 Laps

  1. $10,000.00
  2. $5,000.00
  3. $2,500.00
  4. $2,000.00
  5. $1,500.00
  6. $1,400.00
  7. $1,300.00
  8. $1,200.00
  9. $1,100.00
  10. $1,00.00
  11. $850.00
  12. $800.00
  13. $750.00
  14. $700.00
  15. $650.00
  16. $600.00
  17. $550.00
  18. $500.00
  19. $500.00
  20. $500.00
  21. $500.00
  22. $500.00
  23. $500.00
  24. $500.00

2021 Southern All Stars Points

1. Payton Freeman    (1176)
2. Billy Franklin          (814)
3. Mark Dodson          (740)
4. Josh Putnam          (622)
5. Sam Seawright       (402)
6. Joseph Joiner        (386)
7. Austin Franklin      (362)
8. Casey Turman       (360)
9. Jay Scott                  (350)
10. Dillon Crim           (330)

Dirt on Dirt / Cruise with the Champions Rookie of the Year:

1. Payton Freeman   343
2. Casey Turman       158
3. Austin Franklin       128

Upcoming Southern All Stars Events:

Aug 21 – I-75 Raceway – Niota, TN. – $5,000.00

Aug 28 – Senoia Raceway– Senoia, GA – $5,054.00

Sept. 17  – Beckley Motorsports Park – Mount Hope, VA. – $3,000.00

Sept 18 – Beckley Motorsports Park – Mount Hope, VA. – $10,000.00


Comments are closed.