Live Updates: Southern All Stars at Cherokee Speedway(3-4-18)

Facebooktwitter will be providing nolive updates for the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series race from Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC on Sunday afternoon, March 4, 2018. These updates are being provided by Richard Allen( @RichardAllenIDR on Twitter).

Live Updates are brought to you by Tennessee RV. Click here to visit their website for all your RV sales and service needs.

To follow along, simply scroll down and look under each heading for that particular class. Also, refresh the page frequently as new information will be added often.

Classes in action: Southern All Stars for $12,000-to-win(60 laps). 

*Please Note: These updates will focus solely on the Southern All Stars race.

General Information: This race will serve as the season opener for the Southern All Stars Dirt Racing Series.

Austin Horton won the Southern All Stars championship in 2017.

Cherokee Speedway is a 3/8 mile banked oval.

This event is dubbed March Madness and this is the 16th edition of the race.

Ross Bailes won this event in 2017. Other previous winners of March Madness include Chris Madden(6 times), Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Dennis Franklin, Jeff Smith and Earl Pearson, Jr.

Weather is expected to be good with temperatures in the 50s and virtually no chance of rain.

Drivers meeting is slated for 1:00pm with racing action to follow soon afterwards.

1:30- Hot laps have begun for all classes.

Chris Madden, Chris Ferguson and Michael Brown were fastest in hot laps. Jonathan Davenport suffered damage after he hit the wall during his hot lap session.

Photos: I often post pictures on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account if you would like to take a look.

Please also consider reading: Regional Dirt Racing Series have Much Excitement to Offer

& Ray Cook the driver glad to be back behind the wheel

Live Updates:

Southern All Stars Super Late Models

Car Count: 22 cars

Drivers Here: 0- Scott Bloomquist, 2- Dennis Franklin, 3v- Kyle Hardy, 21- Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., 5- Don O’Neal, D8- Dustin Mitchell, 17R- Brad Skinner, 20- Ray McElheny, 21- Kenny Collins, 22- Chris Ferguson, J27- Jay Scott, 32- Mark Dodson, 35T- Tristan Sealy, 42- Doug Sanders, 44- Chris Madden, 49- Jonathan Davenport, 55- Benji Hicks, 57- Zack Mitchell, 79- Ross Bailes, 101- Casey Roberts, 121- Pearson Lee Williams, 144- Chicky Barton

Qualifying Results: No one will be locked into a starting spot from qualifying.

Group A Results- 1. Ferguson (15.654), 2. O’Neal, 3. Lloyd, 4 Hicks, 5. Bailes

Group B Results- 1. Madden (15.615), 2. Bloomquist, 3. Brown, 4. Roberts, 5. Davenport

Heat Race Results: There will be four heats with everyone transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Lineup- 1. Ferguson, 2. Lloyd, 3. Bailes, 4. Z Mitchell, 5. Scott, 6. Dodson

Heat 1 Finish- 1. Ferguson, 2. Bailes, 3. Z Mitchell, 4. Lloyd, 5. Scott

*Ferguson led all the way in a race that ran caution free.

Heat 2. Lineup- 1. O’Neal, 2. Hicks, 3. Hardy, 4. Franklin, 5. Sealy, 6. Sanders

Heat 2 Finish- 1. O’Neal, 2. Hicks, 3. Hardy, 4. Franklin, 5. Sealy

*O’Neal led all the way.

Heat 3 Lineup- 1. Madden, 2. Brown, 3. Davenport, 4. Skinner, 5. Barton, 6. McElheny

Heat 3 Finish- 1. Madden, 2. Davenport, 3. Brown, 4. Skinner, 5. Barton, 6. McElheny

*Madden led all the way but Davenport kept it close.

Heat 4 Lineup- 1. Bloomquist, 2. Roberts, 3. Mitchell, 4. Collins, 5. Williams

Heat 4 Finish- 1. Bloomquist, 2. Roberts, 3. D Mitchell, 4. Collins, 5. Williams

*Bloomquist led all the way but Roberts stayed right on his rear spoiler all the way.

B-Main Results: No B-mains.

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup- 1. Ferguson, 2. Madden, 3. O’Neal, 4. Bloomquist, 5. Bailes, 6. Davenport, 7. Hicks, 8. Roberts, 9. Z Mitchel, 10. Brown, 11. Hardy, 12. D Mitchell, 13. Lloyd, 14. Skinner, 15. Franklin, 16. Collins, 17. Scott, 18. Barton, 19. Sealy, 20. Williams

5:25- Feature being called to the track. 60 laps for $12,000.

5:38- Cars rolling out after a little track work.

5:50- Four wide!

5:54- Green flag!

Lap 6 caution for McElheny. Madden had been pulling away from battle between Ferguson and Bloomquist for second. O’Neal and Bailes complete the top-5.

Lap 30- Madden leads Bloomquist, Ferguson, Bailes, Mitchell, O’Neal, Hicks, Roberts, Davenport, Brown.

Lap 31 caution for Sealy slow on track. Madden again had a big lead as he was getting through traffic very well. Field was mostly single-file on the bottom.

This is often the time when tire issues start to happen on this track. A couple of drivers trying to blow off the top groove under this caution.

Lap 52 caution for Brown stopped on track. Madden has been dominant. Ferguson took second on the last restart. Bailes, Bloomquist, O’Neal, Z Mitchell, Roberts, Hicks, Davenport, Hardy round out the top-10.

On the restart Bailes got around Ferguson for second. Ferguson spun with several cars being collected. Ferguson apparently clipped the inside berm. D Mitchell, Skinner and Hicks were among those collected.

Order now Madden, Bailes, Bloomquist, O’Neal, Z Mitchell, Roberts.

Madden totally dominated. It’s his seventh March Madness win and his first feature win since rejoining Barry Wright Race Cars.

Feature Results: 1. Madden, 2. Bloomquist, 3. Bailes, 4. O’Neal, 5. Z Mitchell, 6. Roberts, 7. Davenport, 8. Hicks, 9. Hardy, 10. Brown, 11. Williams, 12. Ferguson, 13. Lloyd, 14. Franklin, 15. Sealy

Scott Bloomquist is expected to be among the entrants


Comments are closed