Live Updates: Southern Nationals at North Georgia(7-28-23) will be providing live updates from the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals-sanctioned $10,053-to-win event at North Georgia Speedway in Chatsworth, GA on Friday, July 28, 2023. These updates will be provided by Richard Allen(@RichardAllenIDR on Twitter and @RichardAllenIDR on Instagram).

Live updates are provided by Smoky Mountain Speedway.

Weather Forecast: Partly cloudy with highs in the 90s with a slight chance for showers.

Time: Racing slated to start at 7:00pm.

Feature Payout: $10,053-to-win(53 laps)

Track Description: Third-mile clay oval

Other Classes: 604 Late Models, 602 Late Models, FWD, Beginner

Live Stream:

Pre-race Notes: This will be the seventh race on the Southern Nationals Series

Jimmy Owens leads the series standings with two races remaining over Carson Ferguson, Donald McIntosh, Ricky Weiss and Mike Benedum.

*Cell reception proving to be a bit spotty. Will try to find a better spot.

6:45- Drivers meeting underway.

7:20- Hot laps about to begin.

Live Updates:

Car Count: 36 cars

Drivers Here: B00- Josh Henry, 00- Shawn Chastain, 1c- Kenny Collins, F1- Payton Freeman, 05- Corey Roulette, 5N- Tyler Nichols, 5- Chase Oliver, 7c- Jeremy Cooper, 7w- Ricky Weiss, 8- David Payne, 8- Chris Chandler, 10- Ty Giles,  16- Sam Seawright, 17m- Dale McDowell, 17ss- Brenden Smith, 18x- Michael Page, 20-Jimmy Owens, 22- Will Roland, 25- Mike Benedum, 31- Tyler Millwood, 37- Rob Mayea, 38- Josh Walker, 38- Jamie Oliver, 44- John Ownbey, 46- Joey Tanner, 46j- Chris Jones, 58- Tyler Clem, 60- Booger Brooks, 79- Donald McIntosh, 79y- Adam Yarbrough, 83- Jensen Ford, 87- Andrew Littleton, 91- Heath Hindman, 93- Carson Ferguson, 114- Jordan Koehler, 117- Stanton Davis, 121- Pearson Lee Williams, 187- David McCoy

*Driver list is incomplete and unofficial until after the drivers meeting.

Qualifying Results: The field will be divided into two groups for time-trials. No one will be locked into the feature via qualifying.

Group A Results – 1. Carson Ferguson (13.932), 2. Sam Seawright, 3. Kenny Collins, 4. Will Roland, 5. Dale McDowell, 6. David Payne, 7. Jensen Ford, 8. Corey Roulette

Group B Results – 1. Ricky Weiss (13.973), 2. Pearson Lee Williams, 3. Booger Brooks, 4. Donald McIntosh, 5. Jimmy Owens, 6. Michael Page 7. John Ownbey, 8. Jordan Koehler

Heat Race Results: There will be four heat races with the top-4 from each transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Finish- 1. Carson Ferguson, 2. Dale McDowell, 3. Kenny Collins, 4. Mike Benedum

Heat 2 Finish- 1. Sam Seawright, 2. David Payne, 3. Will Roland, 4. Chase Oliver

Heat 3 Finish- 1. Booger Brooks, 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Jimmy Owens, 4. John Ownbey

Heat 4 Finish- 1. Donald McIntosh, 2. Pearson Lee Williams, 3. Michael Page, 4. Tyler Clem

B-main Results: There will be two B-main races with the top-2 from each transferring to the feature.

B-main 1 Finish- 1. Rob Mayea, 2. Jensen Ford

B-main 2 Finish- 1. Josh Henry, 2. Heath Hindman

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup – 1. Ferguson, 2. Brooks, 3. Seawright, 4. McIntosh, 5. McDowell, 6. Weiss, 7. Payne, 8. Williams, 9. Collins, 10. Owens, 11. Roland, 12. Page, 13. Benedum, 14. Ownbey, 15. Oliver, 16. Clem, 17. Mayes, 18. Josh Henry, 19. Ford, 20. Heath Hindman

11:19- Feature rolling out. 53 laps for $10,053.

11:27- Green flag!

Lap 16 caution for Tanner spin. Intense and high speed so far. Ferguson leads McIntosh, McDowell, Brooks, Weiss, Collins, Owens, Page, Williams, Roland

Lap 25- Ferguson leads McDowell, McIntosh, Weiss, Owens

Lap 40- Still Ferguson leading McDowell and McIntosh

McDowell takes the lead on the last lap when Ferguson was held up behind slower cars.

Feature Results: 1. Dale McDowell, 2. Carson Ferguson, 3. Donald McIntosh, 4. Michael Page, 5. Ricky Weiss, 6. Jimmy Owens, 7. Kenny Collins, 8. Will Roland, 9. Pearson Lee Williams, 10. Tyler Clem, 11. John Ownbey, 12. Mike Benedum, 13. Josh Henry, 14. Brenden Smith, 15. Jordan Koehler, 16. Rob Mayea, 17. Booger Brooks, 18. David Payne, 19. Jensen Ford, 20. Chase Oliver, 21. Joey Tanner, 22. Sam Seawright, 23. Heath Hindman

Donald McIntosh is now driving the Billy Hicks-owned Double Nickel

Comments are closed.