Live Updates: Lucas Oil Series at Tazewell Speedway(6-28-19)

Facebooktwitter will be providing live updates from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN on Friday evening, June 28, 2019. The updates will be provided by Richard Allen(@RichardAllenIDR on Twitter and @RichardAllenIDR on Instagram).

These updates are brought to you by Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. The next event coming to SMS will be the ‘Mountain Moonshine Classic’ for the Iron-Man Late Model Series, the Durrence-Layne Crate Late Models, and the Iron-Man Modifieds on June 29, 2019.

Classes in action: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for $12,000-to-win(50 laps) as well as the Sportsman Late Models, Four Cylinders and Street Stocks.

*Please Note: These updates will focus solely on the LOLMDS race. 

**Please Note: Updates could be limited as cell reception at Tazewell tends to be spotty.

General Information:

Weather is expected to be warm with little to no chance for rain.

The drivers meeting is slated for 7:00pm with hot laps to follow soon afterward.

This is the first of a two-race weekend for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. The tour will move on to Kentucky’s Florence Speedway on Saturday night.

Jonathan Davenport leads the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series standings over Tyler Erb, Earl Pearson Jr., Josh Richards, Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Owens, Hudson O’Neal, Kyle Bronson and Don O’Neal.

Don O’Neal will miss the next several races in order to recover from knee surgery.

Jonathan Davenport is the defending champion of this race.

7:15 – Drivers meeting underway

7:45 – Hot laps about to begin

Photos: I often post photos and/or short videos on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account and my @RichardAllenIDR Instagram account if you would like to take a look.

Please also consider reading: Don O’Neal to miss multiple weeks due to injury & Jonathan Davenport in the midst of another stellar season 

Live Updates:

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Car Count: 27 cars

Drivers Here: 1- Tyler Erb, 1- Earl Pearson, Jr., 1- Devin Moran, 1- Vic Hill, 1G – Ryan King, 2- Stormy Scott, 3- Steve Smith, 5- Michael Norris, 8p – David Payne, 8s – Kyle Strickler, 9 – Dusty Carver, 11 – Jared Hawkins, 14- Josh Richards, 17m – Dale McDowell, 20- Jimmy Owens, 21- Billy Moyer, Jr., 21K- Dakotah Knuckles, 22 – Lynn Leach, 28- Jeff Wolfenbarger, 39- Tim McCreadie, 40- Kyle Bronson, 49- Jonathan Davenport, 50- Shanon Buckingham, 51 – Mack McCarter, 71- Hudson O’Neal, 86 – Jeff Neubert, 90 – Jason Trammell

Qualifying Results:

All cars will qualify in one group

1. Richards (11.118), 2. Trammell, 3. Norris, 4. Buckingham, 5. King, 6. Owens, 7. McDowell, 8. Wolfenbarger, 9. Knuckles

Heat Race Results:

There will be three heat races with the top 6 from each transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Lineup- 1. Richards, 2. Buckingham, 3. McDowell, 4. Pearson, 5. Moran, 6. O’Neal, 7. Scott, 8. Smith, 9. Bronson

Heat 1 Finish- 1. Richards, 2. Buckingham, 3. McDowell, 4. Pearson, 5. Moran, 6. O’Neal

Heat 2 Lineup- 1. Trammell, 2. Owens, 3. Knuckles, 4. McCarter, 5. Strickler, 6. Erb, 7. Moyer Jr., 8. Neubert, 9. Carver

Heat 2 Finish- 1. Owens, 2. Erb, 3. Knuckles, 4. Strickler, 5. Moyer Jr., 6. Neubert

Heat 3 Lineup- 1. Norris, 2. King, 3. Wolfenbarger, 4. Hill, 5. Davenport, 6. Hawkins, 7. McCreadie, 8. Payne, 9. Leach

Heat 3 Finish- 1. Wolfenbarger, 2. Hill, 3. Norris, 4. King, 5. Hawkins, 6. McCreadie

B-Main Results:

There will be one B-main with the top 4 transferring to the feature

B-Main Finish- 1. Scott, 2. Davenport, 3. Payne, 4. Trammell

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup- 1. Richards, 2. Owens, 3. Wolfenbarger, 4. Buckingham, 5. Erb, 6. Hill, 7. McDowell, 8. Knuckles, 9. Norris, 10. Pearson, 11. Strickler, 12. King, 13. Moran, 14. Moyer Jr, 15. Hawkins, 16. O’Neal, 17. Neubert, 18. McCreadie, 19. Scott, 20. Davenport, 21. Payne, 22. Trammell, 23. Bronson, 24. Smith

10:32- Feature rolling out. 50 laps for $12,000.

Very light raindrops starting to fall. The halfway mark of 25 laps would make this race official.

10:38- Green flag!

Caution on initial start for spin by Moyer Jr.

Lap 8 caution. Leader Richards tangles with slower car of Smith and spins. Owens also got a piece of the incident.

Lucas officials put Richards back in front and Owens back in second, and Buckingham, Wolfenbarger, and Hill round out the top 5.

Lap 10 caution for Owens slow on track. Richards leads Buckingham, Erb, Wolfenbarger, McDowell, Hill, Knuckles, Pearson. Owens back out at tail after tire change.

Davenport has retired, it will be his first DNF of the season.

Lap 18 caution for flat tire on Hill. Richards still leads but Erb had tracked him down. Buckingham, McDowell, Wolfenbarger, Strickler, Hawkins, Knuckles, Pearson, McCreadie run 3-10.

Lap 19 caution for debris.

Lap 35 caution. Erb passed Richards to take the lead on lap 28 in heavy traffic. McDowell, Buckingham, Hawkins, Pearson, O’Neal, Knuckles, and Strickler follow the lead duo.

The race will be official if the rain intensifies.

Lap 42 caution for Richards off the pace. He had fallen to third on the last restart. Erb leads McDowell, Buckingham, Hawkins, Pearson, Bronson, O’Neal. Richards rejoins at the tail.

Lap 45 caution for flat tire on leader Erb. McDowell now leads Buckingham, Hawkins, Pearson, Bronson, O’Neal, Owens, Strickler

Now McDowell pulls off under caution. Buckingham leads.

Fourth running Bronson pulls off under caution.

McDowell and Bronson rejoin the field.

Feature Results:

Feature Finish: 1. Buckingham, 2. Hawkins, 3. Pearson, 4. O’Neal, 5. Owens, 6. McCreadie, 7. Strickler, 8. Hill, 9. Moran, 10. King

Richards apparently not happy with Erb as he runs into the side of Erb’s car on the cooldown lap.

This is Buckingham’s first Lucas Oil victory.

Jimmy Owens is always a contender at Tazewell


Comments are closed.