Kyle Larson grabs All-Star Circuit of Champions win at Atomic

Kyle Larson earned his 28th career ASCoC victory

No matter what type of race car he sits in, Kyle Larson just wins. On Thursday night in front of a big crowd at Atomic Speedway the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion claimed a feature win in the Tezos All-Star Circuit of Champions-sanctioned ‘The Stars Come Out’ event. A mid-race pass proved to be the winning move for ‘Yung Money’.

The Silva Motorsports driver from Elk Grove, California took the win and a $10,000 payday from the track located in Chillicothe, Ohio in a race aired live by

A total of 42 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results: 1. Kyle Larson(11.041), 2. Rico Abreu, 3. Tyler Courtney, 4. Zeb Wise, 5. Parker Price-Miller, 6. Hunter Schuerenberg, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Tim Schaffer, 9. Cole Duncan, 10. Cap Henry

Heat 1 Results: 1. Skylar Gee, 2. Sean Rayhall, 3. Zeb Wise, 4. Ryan Timms

Heat 2 Results: 1. Hunter Schuerenberg, 2. Rico Abreu, 3. Cole Duncan, 4. Travis Philo

Heat 3 Results: 1. Cale Thomas, 2. Brandon Wimmer, 3. Cap Henry, 4. Jake Hesson

Heat 4 Results: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Brent Marks, 3. Cole Macedo, 4. Kyle Larson

Heat 5 Results:1. Tim Shaffer, 2. Chris Windom, 3. Kraig Kinser, 4. Parker Price-Miller

B-main Finish: 1. J.J. Hickle, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Danny Smith, 4. Blake Hahn

Dash Results: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Cale Thomas, 4. Tim Shaffer, 5. Cap Henry, 6. Rico Abreu, 7. Skylar Gee, 8. Zeb Wise, 9. Hunter Schuerenberg, 10. Parker Price-Miller

Feature Re-cap: The 30-lap feature got underway with Courtney leading Larson, Thomas, Shaffer and Henry but a caution would wave on lap 3 when top-10 running Gee bounced off the turn two wall. 

On the restart, Henry, Shaffer and Abreu exchanged positions 4 through 6 as Courtney continued to lead Larson and Thomas. The front runners quickly found themselves mixing it up among slower cars by lap 10. Larson went to the lead on lap 13 when Courtney was held up by a lapped car.

At the halfway mark, Abreu and Thomas fought for a podium position behind Larson and Courtney, Abreu would gain the spot on lap 17.

Larson knifed his way through traffic to build up a lead of almost two seconds before a flat tire on Henry brought out a yellow flag with 11 laps remaining. Larson pulled away on the restart leaving Courtney, Abreu and Thomas to decide second through fourth.

Larson ran into slower traffic which allowed Courtney to close quickly until a caution came out for the slowing car of Timms on lap 26.

Larson appeared to have the feature under control but a caution would wave on lap 29 when Wise suffered a flat right rear tire. But Larson was undeterred as he led the pack back to the checkered flag to score the win in only his third Sprint Car start of the season.

Feature Results: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Tyler Courtney, 3. Rico Abreu, 4. Parker Price-Miller, 5. Cale Thomas, 6. Brent Makes, 7. Tim Shaffer, 8. Lance Dewease, 9. Hunter Schuerenberg, 10. Cole Duncan, 11. Travis Philo, 12. Cole Macedo, 13. Cap Henry, 14. Chris Windom, 15. Jake Hesson, 16. Zeb Wise, 17. Danny Smith, 18. Skylar Gee, 19. Kraig Kinser, 20. Ryan Timms, 21. Blake Hahn,  22. J.J. Hickle, 23. Sean Rayhall, 24. Brandon Wimmer

Please consider also reading:

Carson Macedo thriving in Jason Johnson Racing comfort zone

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out


Comments are closed.