Hudson O’Neal stays hot with Monday night DIRTcar victory at Volusia

Hudson O’Neal earned his third consecutive feature win on Monday at Volusia

Coming off of back-to-back wins last week at East Bay Raceway Park, Hudson O’Neal has now emerged as the hottest driver in Dirt Late Model racing as he has now settled into his seat with the Rocket Chassis house car. The driver of the No. 1 machine took the win on Monday night in the opening event of the Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park as the week-long quest for the Gator Trophy begins.

The Rocket Chassis driver from Martinsville, Indiana earned $7,000 for his efforts on the track located in Barberville, Florida in a race shown live by

A total of 45 cars were signed in for competition. 

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Brandon Overton(15.784), 2. Max Blair, 3. Mike Benedum, 4. David Breazeale, 5. Tyler Bruening

Group B Results- 1. Tim McCreadie(15.944), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Hudson O’Neal, 4. Daulton Wilson, 5. Ashton Winger

Group C Results- 1. Bobby Pierce(16.069), 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Jordan Koehler, 5. Kyle Bronson

Group D Results- 1. Nick Hoffman(16.221), 2. Devin Moran, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Brian Shirley, 5. Donny Schatz

Heat 1 Results: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Max Blair, 3. Brandon Overton, 4. David Breazeale, 5. Tyler Bruening

Heat 2 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Ashton Winger, 5. Frank Heckenast Jr.

Heat 3 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Kyle Bronson, 4. Dennis Erb Jr., 5. Stormy Scott

Heat 4 Results: 1. Nick Hoffman, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Kyle Strickler, 5. Devin Moran

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Daulton Wilson, 2. Boom Briggs, 3. Cade Dillard

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. Jordan Koehler 

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 25-lap feature it was Pierce who grabbed the early lead with Hoffman, Madden, McCreadie and O’Neal trailing. After a little contact between the two front runners as they raced for the lead, Hoffman got by Pierce to assume the top spot. At the same time, McCreadie moved around Madden for the third position. 

A lap 5 caution for the slowing car of Heckenast bunched the pack. On the restart, McCreadie bolted to the lead ahead of Pierce, O’Neal and Hoffman. Pierce then moved in to challenge McCreadie for the lead on lap 10 with O’Neal, Hoffman and Madden keeping the leaders in their sights.

The top-3 of McCreadie, Pierce and O’Neal tightened as they encountered slower traffic on lap 10. Pierce got by McCreadie for the lead but bobbled soon there after allowing O’Neal to get by and begin showing the way. McCreadie went back to second around Pierce on lap 19 but O’Neal was beginning to slip away.

The fast rising Madden got around Pierce for third with two laps remaining as O’Neal found himself trapped behind slower machines.

McCreadie closed in to challenge for the lead at the white flag but O’Neal drove back to the checkered to claim his third feature win in his last three starts.

Feature Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Chris Madden, 4. Nick Hoffman, 5. Ricky Thornton Jr., 6. Brandon Overton, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Max Blair, 9. Shane Clanton, 10. Brandon Sheppard, 11. Kyle Bronson, 12. Ashton Winger, 13. Dennis Erb Jr., 14. Kyle Strickler, 15. David Breazeale, 16. Tyler Bruening, 17. Devin Moran, 18. Donny Schatz, 19. Daulton Wilson, 20. Brian Shirley, 21. Cade Dillard, 22. Boom Briggs, 23. Stormy Scott, 24. Jordan Koehler, 25. Frank Heckenast Jr., 26. Mason Zeigler

Please consider also reading:

Turn 2 Blog: Who’s Hot and Who’s Not?

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.