Cody Smith, Brad Davis hoist Tazewell Speedway trophies


Tazewell Speedway hosted the series finale for the Southern Nationals on Saturday night in front of a big crowd. As part of that event, the track staged racing in its regular classes as well. Two of the hottest weekly drivers in east Tennessee were in action on the high banks with one continuing his winning ways while the other saw his streak snapped.

Brad Davis added another victory in the Super Street division while Cody Smith stopped the five race win streak of Travis Fultz in the Sportsman class.

Cody Smith was the Sportsman winner in Tazewell

Smith and Fultz started the Sportsman feature from the front row with Fultz in what is typically the more coveted outside spot. However, Smith won the drag race to turn one when the green flag waved and slid up in front of Fultz to secure the lead with Fultz, Matt Tharp, Anthony Burchette and Aaron Guinn trailing.

As the cars were about to complete the first circuit Tharp moved around Fultz to take second. But on the next lap, Fultz would retake the runner-up position and begin his pursuit of the race leader. At the same time, Guinn went to work on Burchette in an attempt to capture fourth.

A multi-car crash in turn one brought out the race’s only yellow flag. On the ensuing restart, Guinn was able to complete the move around Burchette for fourth. The No. 97 then went to work on Tharp in hopes of moving up to third.

With the race settled into a green flag pattern, Smith maintained a three to four car length advantage over Fultz while Tharp and Guinn continued to contest the third position.

When the leaders found themselves in traffic the top-4 of Smith, Fultz, Tharp and Guinn tightened up but Smith was able to hold the challenges off as the won the race to the checkered flag.

Feature Finish: 1. Cody Smith, 2. Travis Fultz, 3. Matt Tharp, 4. Aaron Guinn, 5. Anthony Burchette, 6. Andy Wilder, 7. Randy Davis, 8. Andy Ogle, 9. Jason Sizemore, 10. Chris Raines, 11. Phillip Shockley, 12. Phillip Nichols, 13. Paul Whitley, 14. Justin James, 15. Nick Kniat, 16. Logan Seal, 17. Tyler Smith

Brad Davis adden another Tazewell Speedway win

Kurt Owens and Brad Davis started the Super Stock feature from the front row and Davis took advantage of his outside starting spot to win the race through turns one and two to emerge onto the back stretch with the race lead. Owens, Robbie Buchanan, Wayne Rader and Shannon Emery trailed the early front runner.

Davis broke away from the pack early on only to have his advantage erased when a caution flag waved on lap 3. On the restart, Buchanan challenged Owens for second but the the No. 14 car held the spot.

Again, Davis parted from the field on lap 8 while Rader went after Buchanan for third but Buchanan held on. In the meantime, David continued to cruise as he sailed on to another victory while the Owens machine began to smoke heavily over the final couple of laps.

Feature Finish: 1. Brad Davis, 2. Kurt Owens, 3. Robbie Buchanan, 4. Wayne Rader, 5. Shannon Emery, 6. Cody Thompson, 7. Daniel Sauceman, 8. Logan Cobb



Comments are closed