Brad Sweet clinches fifth WoO Sprints title with Charlotte feature win

Brad Sweet is once again a WoO Sprints champion

Brad Sweet came into the third night of the World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte only needing a 22nd place finish to earn his fifth consecutive World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series championship. In the end, he did much better than that by passing Rico Abreu with just two laps remaining to claim the race victory as well as the title.

The Kasey Kahne Racing driver from Grass Valley, California earned $25,000 from the track located in Concord, NC.

A total of 53 cars were signed in for competition

Heat Race Results: Heat race lineups were determined by points compiled during Thursday and Friday competition. 

Heat 1 Results: 1. Rico Abreu, 2. Brian Brown, 3. Sheldon Haudenschild, 4. Donny Schatz, 5. Tanner Holmes

Heat 2 Results: 1. Brent Marks, 2. Justin Peck, 3. Hunter Schuerenberg, 4. Cory Eliason, 5. Justin Henderson

Heat 3 Results: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Carson Macedo, 3. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 4. Jacob Allen, 5. Skylar Gee

Heat 4 Results: 1. Brad Sweet, 2. Logan Schuchart, 3. Cap Henry, 4. Spencer Bayston, 5. Brock Zearfoss

C-Main Results: 1. Zane DeVault, 2. Anthony Macri

Last Chance Showdown Finish: 1. David Gravel, 2. Kasey Kahne, 3. Giovanni Scelzi, 4. Sye Lynch

WoO Dash Results: 1. Brian Brown, 2. Brad Sweet, 3. Brent Marks, 4. Rico Abreu, 5. Logan Schuchart, 6. Justin Peck, 7. Tyler Courtney, 8. Carson Macedo

Feature Re-cap: The 25-lap main event began with Brown leading Sweet, Abreu, Marks and Macedo. Abreu took second away from Sweet on the second circuit, while further back, Peck got by Macedo for fifth. However, Macedo regained the position one lap later. 

The track proved to have two raceable lines with some driver, such as Abreu, running the high line while others, such as Sweet, took to the low side.

Abreu went around Brown for the lead on lap 8 at the same time Marks was passing Sweet for third. Two laps later, both Marks and Sweet would pass by Brown to claim second and third respectively. Further back, Schuchart began to rise as he burst into the top-5 on lap 11.

Schuchart then went by Brown for fourth on lap 14. Closer to the front, Sweet captured second from Marks on lap 17 and then immediately after Abreu.

With just two laps remaining, Sweet used the low groove to get by Abreu for the lead and then held off a late challenge to score his first career victory at The Dirt Track at Charlotte. It was the third consecutive night in which the Sprint Cars had run a caution free feature.

Feature Results: 1. Brad Sweet, 2. Rico Abreu, 3. Logan Schuchart, 4. Brent Marks, 5. Tyler Courtney, 6. Sheldon Haudenschild, 7. David Gravel, 8. Carson Macedo, 9. Hunter Schuerenberg, 10. Brian Brown, 11. Spencer Bayston, 12. Jacob Allen, 13. Donny Schatz, 14. Justin Peck, 15. James McFadden, 16. Giovanni Scelzi, 17. Cap Henry, 18. Justin Henderson, 19. Brock Zearfoss, 20. Cory Eliason, 21. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 22. Tanner Holmes, 23. Skylar Gee, 24. Kasey Kahne, 25. Robbie Price, 26. Sye Lynch, 27. Noah Gass

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out

Comments are closed.