Bobby Pierce scores FloRacing Night in America victory at Fairbury

Bobby Pierce scored a thrilling win at FALS

Fairbury American Legion Speedway produced another great race on Tuesday night in the Castrol FloRacing Night in America feature race and it was Bobby Pierce who would capture the win in his home state.

The Bob Pierce Race Cars driver from Oakwood, Illinois earned $22,022 for his efforts at the quarter-mile track located in Fairbury, Illinois in a race aired live by

A total of 42 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Dennis Erb Jr.(12.621), 2. Gordy Gundaker, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Frank Hecknast Jr., 5. Brandon Sheppard, 6. Mike Spatola, 7. McKay Wenger, 8. Chris Madden, 9. Tanner English, 10. Billy Moyer

Group B Results- 1. Bobby Pierce(12.723), 2. Kevin Weaver, 3. Kyle Bronson, 4. Myles Moos, 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Steve Sheppard, 7. NickAllen, 8. Shane Clanton , 9. Trevor Gundaker, 10. Garrett Smith

Heat 1 Results: 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Tanner English

Heat 2 Results: 1. Frank Heckenast Jr., 2. Chris Madden, 3. Gordy Gundaker, 4. Tyler Erb

Heat 3 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Ryan Unzicker, 3. Kyle Bronson, 4. Nick Allen

Heat 4 Results:  1. Myles Moos, 2. Kevin Weaver, 3. Shane Clanton, 4. Brandon Overton

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Billy Moyer, 2. Daulton Wilson

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Trevor Gundaker, 2. Steve Sheppard

Feature Re-cap: The 50-lap feature took the green flag with Dennis Erb Jr. leading ahead of Pierce, Moos, Heckenast and Unzicker. Erb and Pierce ran lap after lap in typical FALS fashion as Erb held the bottom while Pierce rode the wall on the top of the track. Pierce would go to the lead on lap 5 but that battle continued. 

Babb began to move forward with he burst into the top-5 on lap 7. erb took the lead back away from Pierce on lap 11 then Pierce went back to the top of the leaderboard one lap later.

After he regained the lead, Pierce dropped to the low side of the track keeping Pierce at bay. Meanwhile, Babb had made his way third and closed in on the lead duo as Unzicker and Heckenast ran fourth and fifth.

The first yellow flag of the night waved on lap 26 when Steve Sheppard slowed. On the restart, Babb bolted to second just behind Pierce.

Heckenast would get by Erb for third with 15 laps to go. At the same time, Pierce began to slip away from the pack but a lap 38 caution for debris would erase his advantage.

On the lap 38 restart, Heckenast jumped all the way to second but his gain would be short-lived as Babb went back to the runner-up position. Ricky Thornton Jr. came from the 22nd starting spot and took to the high side late in the going and began charging toward the front of the pack.

In classic FALS fashion, Heckenast went to the topside and began to pick off positions and gain on Pierce. But in the end, it would be Pierce who would sail under the checkered flag to claim the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Frank Heckenast Jr., 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Ricky Thornton Jr., 5. Ryan Unzicker, 6. Gordy Gundaker, 7. Dennis Erb Jr., 8. Tanner English, 9. Brandon Sheppard, 10. Chris Madden, 11. Brandon Overton, 12. Mike Marlar, 13. Shane Clanton, 14. Daulton Wilson, 15. Trevor Gundaker, 16. Tyler Erb, 17. Myles Moos, 18. Billy Moyer, 19. Kyle Bronson, 20. Kevin Weaver, 21. Steve Sheppard, 22. Nick Allen

Please consider also reading:

Smoky Mountain Speedway owner offers views on revenue model used by streaming services

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.