Zach Sise earns Late Model victory at The Gap


Zach Sise emerged from and early battle to grab the win

Along with the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series the Volunteer Speedway also played host to its regular Crate Late Model division. Zach Sise earned the win in font of a huge crowd and left the Bulls Gap, TN track with the first place prize of $1,500.

Zach Sise was fastest among the 24 cars on hand in Crate Late Model qualifying when he toured the 4/10 mile clay oval in 14.179 seconds to beat out Jensen Ford, Josh Henry, Ross White, Rusty Ballenger, Michael Bland, Trevor Sise, Terry Poore, Tyler Arrington and Ahnna Parkhurst.

At the start of the 25-lap feature it was Ford who would take advantage of his outside front row starting position and grab the early lead. But over the next couple of laps, Ford and Sise would exchange slide job passes before Sise would eventually stake claim to the lead on the third lap.

From that point, the top-4 of Sise, Ford, Henry and White ran in tight formation around the high-baked track as the race ran for its first 23 laps without a caution. With slower traffic becoming a factor, the cars of Ballenger, Trevor Sise and Bland joined the fray along with the top-4 machines.

By lap 20, Zach Sise had extricated himself from the slower traffic and broke away from his closest pursuers. However, a caution on lap 23 would bunch the field for a final dash to the finish.

Sise maintained the lead after the green flag waved and eventually drove under the checkered flag for the win.

Feature Finish: 1. Zach Sise, 2. Jensen Ford, 3. Josh Henry, 4. Ross White, 5. Rusty Ballenger, 6. Trevor Sise, 7. Micahel Bland, 8. Terry Poore, 9. Tyler Arrington, 10. Jason Welshan, 11. Ahnna Parkhurst, 12. Shannon Emery, 13. Clay Coghlan, 14. Chris Chandler, 15. Adam Ahl, 16. Tim Maupin, 17. Taylor Coffman, 18. Jamie Stanley, 19. Michael Smith, 20. Cameron Skinner, 21. Nathan Martin, 22. Tim Sant, 23. Adam Tolliver, 24. Michael Woods


Comments are closed.