Tyler Nicely scores Iron-Man Modified feature win at Lake Cumberland


Tyler Nicely earned $1,000 for his Modified win

Not only did the Lake Cumberland Speedway play host to the Iron-Man Late Model Series on Saturday night but they also staged racing for the Brucebilt Iron-Man Modified tur as well. Tyler Nicely came away from the Burnside, KY facility with the win and a $1,000 payout at the end of the evening’s festivities.

Shon Flanary led the way in Modified qualifying for the field of 32 cars that were presented for competition. Peyton Harlow, Blake Brown, Jimmy Payne, Tyler Nicely and Jimmy Robinson followed the series points leader in time-trials.

Payne earned the pole position for the feature by winning the night’s first heat race while Nicely and Brown were also preliminary race winners.

Nicely jumped to the early lead when the green flag waved over the 25-lap feature with Payne, Flanary, Brown and Tommy Bailey trailing. Bailey went to work quickly as he moved in challenge Brown for fourth on the second lap while Payne and Flanary contested the second spot just before Brown broke away from his fight for fourth to join the two cars just ahead of him.

Further back, Harlow and Bailey engaged in a battle for fifth as the laps clicked off. Harlow eventually took that spot away.

The only yellow flag of the feature race waved on lap 8 and served t bring the pack back together with Nicely leading Payne, Flanary, Brown, Harlow and Bailey at the time.

On the ensuing restart, Flanary moved around Payne to claim second. Brown attempted to pounce as he moved inside Payne in an attempt to seize the third position but Payne held the spot for the time being.

Over the course of the race’s second half, Nicely eased away from his pursuers while Flanary, Payne, Brown, Harlow and Bailey engaged in an intense battle for the remaining positions within the top-5 that saw a number of passes and repasses take place as the cars fought among and around slower machines.

In the end, it was Tyler Nicely who collected the win followed to the checkered flag by Shon Flanary, Blake Brown, Peyton Harlow and Jimmy Payne.


Comments are closed