Tyler Erb claims first win of 2023 on Monday night at East Bay

Tyler Erb got the win at East Bay

Tyler Erb’s season has made a huge turnaround over the past week after getting off to a slow start and that continued on Monday night when he claimed his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of 2023 at East Bay Raceway Park. The opening night of the Wieland Winternationals was a non-points race but it proved to be an exciting night of racing.

The Rocket Chassis driver from New Waverly, Texas earned $5,000 for his efforts on the Gibsonton, Florida track in a race shown live by FloRacing.com.

A total of 58 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Tanner English(14.871), 2. Jensen Ford, 3. Brandon Overton, 4. Kyle Bronson, 5. Hudson O’Neal, 6. Mason Zeigler, 7. Ross Robinson, 8. David McCoy, 9. Chase Junghans, 10. Devin Moran

Group B Results- 1. Tyler Erb(14.909), 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Ashton Winger, 4. Eddie Carrier Jr, 5. Blake Spencer, 6. Earl Pearson Jr., 7. Garrett Smith, 8. Ross Bailes, 9. Brian Shirley, 10. Daulton Wilson

Heat 1 Results: 1. Kyle Bronson, 2. Ross Robinson, 3. Mark Whitener

Heat 2 Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Jensen Ford, 3. G.R. Smith

Heat 3 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Spencer Hughes, 3. Mason Zeigler

Heat 4 Results: 1. Tyler Erb, 2. Garrett Smith, 3. Eddie Carrier Jr.

Heat 5 Results: 1. Dennis Erb Jr., 2. Ross Bailes, 3. Kenny Collins

Heat 6 Results: 1. Ashton Winger, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Earl Pearson Jr.

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Tanner English, 2. Tyler Bruening

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Tyler Millwood, 2. Logan Roberson

B-main 3 Finish: 1. Ryan Gustin, 2. Benji Hicks

Feature Re-cap: When the 30-lap feature took the green flag Bronson and Tyler Erb engaged in a fight for the lead with Bronson leading the first and second laps then Erb taking the top spot from there. O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr. and Overton trailed from there.

A caution for the slowing car of Robinson slowed the action just after the completion of the third circuit. On the restart, O’Neal and Overton moved to second and third respectively but Bronson emerged from a three-wide battle to get back around Overton third one lap later with Dennis Erb Jr. just behind.

Tyler Erb led with O’Neal keeping him in his sights until a lap 11 yellow flag for an incident involving Roberson and Bailes re-set the field.

Winger jumped up to third on the lap 11 restart behind Tyler Erb and O’Neal but another caution flag waved on lap 12 for Wilson, Ford and Bailes. Erb continued to lead after fighting off Winger, who then began to fall back.

O’Neal and Overton then took up the pursuit of Tyler Erb with Dennis Erb Jr. and Bronson battling for fourth just behind. A lap 18 caution for the slowing car of G.R. Smith slowed the action. Overton moved into second on the restart. Whitener and Hughes took up the fight for fifth at the same time.

A lap 24 caution for a flat tire on the Winger car get up a short run to the finish. Erb continued to lead on the restart with O’Neal and Overton trailing. Millwood burst into the top-5 on the outside from well back in the field.

In the end, Tyler Erb would lead the pack to the checkered flag to score the win.

Feature Results: 1. Tyler Erb, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Tyler Millwood, 4. Brandon Overton, 5. Dennis Erb Jr., 6. Mark Whitener, 7. Spencer Hughes, 8. Ryan Gustin, 9. Tanner English, 10. Eddie Carrier Jr., 11. Brian Shirley, 12. Ross Bailes, 13. Kyle Bronson, 14. Tyler Bruening, 15. Daulton Wilson, 16. Logan Roberson, 17. Ross Robinson, 18. Benji Hicks, 19. Kenny Collins, 20. Earl Pearson Jr., 21. Ashton Winger, 22. G.R. Smith, 23. Mason Zeigler, 24. David McCoy, 25. Jensen Ford, 26. Garrett Smith

Please consider also reading:

After two solid finishes, Tyler Erb would love to hit the re-set button on 2023

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.