Tim McCreadie takes WoO Late Models finale at Charlotte


Tim McCreadie took the WoO finale

The World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series closed out its 2020 season on Thursday night in the Last Call at the Dirt Track at Charlotte. Tim McCreadie scored the win after a caution-filled show at the facility located near NASCAR’s Charlotte Motor Speedway. The Watertown, NY driver earned $12,000 for his victory in a race broadcast live by DirtVisions.com.

Brandon Sheppard was officially crowned as the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series champion.

Kyle Larson was fastest in Group A qualifying and overall with a lap of 14.183 seconds around the 4/10 mile clay oval as he topped Tim McCreadie, Brandon Sheppard, and Kyle Strickler.

The time set by the future driver for Hendrick Motorsports lowered the speedway’s track record.

Wednesday night winner Brandon Overton led the way in Group B with a lap of 14.224 seconds to better the efforts of Austin Kirkpatrick, Dale McDowell, Scott Bloomquist, and Dustin Mitchell.

Chris Ferguson scored the win in the first heat race of the night ahead of Kyle Larson and Ross Bailes while Tim McCreadie outran Kyle Strickler and Steven Roberts.

Ricky Weiss was the winner of the third heat over Brandon Sheppard and Tyler Carpenter then Brandon Overton took the fourth heat ahead of Jimmy Owens and Dennis Erb Jr.

Austin Kirkpatrick took the fifth heat by beating out Chris Madden and Parker Martin and Dale McDowell was victorious in the sixth and final heat race besting Ashton Winger and Chad Finley.

The WoO Late Models redraw placed McDowell on the pole with Weiss, Kirkpatrick, McCreadie, Ferguson, and Overton lined up in succession.

Jonathan Davenport, Ryan King, and Tyler Millwood won the three Last Chance Showdowns of the evening.

Please also consider reading Brandon Overton picks up Wednesday Last Call win in Charlotte

Before the start of the feature, Kirkpatrick failed to make it to the staging area in time and had to start the main event from the tail.

At the start of the 50-lap feature, it was Weiss who went to the early lead followed by McDowell, Ferguson, Overton and Owens. The third lap saw Overton take third away from Ferguson as Weiss looked to slip away from his pursuers.

A lap 7 caution for the slowing car of Steven Roberts temporarily halted the action. On the restart, McCreadie moved around Ferguson to take fifth just before a caution flag waved on lap 9.

During the lap 9 caution, Erb had to be pushed to the pit area and retired from the race. Ferguson jumped all the way up to fourth on the restart as McCreadie and Owens battled for fifth.

Overton moved to second during a flurry of cautions through the early laps. Ferguson slowed on lap 12 with a flat tire to bring out another yellow flag.

Owens was eliminated from the race on lap 19 when he had a hard impact with the turn three wall after contact with Roberts. The Owens car was heavily damaged but the driver was able to walk to the ambulance under his own power.

McCreadie went to second on lap 19 and set off in pursuit of Weiss until another caution flag was displayed on lap 24. Strickler took fifth away from McDowell on lap 25 while Weiss, McCreadie and Overton ran in tight formation at the front of the field.

Madden and Overton had contact while racing for third on lap 30 just before another caution came out when Bloomquist slowed. McCreadie and Overton got by Weiss to take first and second on the lap 30 restart.

With less than 10 laps to go, it became a battle between McCreadie and Overton for the win. Those two cars found themselves in the midst of slower traffic and appeared to be set for a showdown until Overton bobbled with two circuits remaining which allowed Weiss to slip by.

McCreadie sailed on to the checkered to capture a late season triumph.

Feature Finish: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Brandon Overton, 4. Chris Madden, 5. Dale McDowell, 6. Steven Roberts, 7. Kyle Strickler, 8. Kyle Larson, 9. Jonathan Davenport, 10. Chad Finley, 11. Tyler Carpenter, 12. Cade Dillard, 13. Brandon Sheppard, 14. Boom Briggs, 15. Ryan King, 16. Tyler Millwood, 17. Ashton Winger, 18. Josh Richards, 19. Scott Bloomquist, 20. Chris Ferguson, 21. Ross Bailes, 22. Chase Junghans, 23. Jimmy Owens, 24. Parker Martin, 25. Dustin Mitchell, 26. Dennis Erb Jr., 27. Austin Kirkpatrick, 28. Brent Larson

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.