Tim McCreadie takes inaugural Lucas Oil feature at Huset’s Speedway


Tim McCreadie claim the inaugural outing for the LOLMDS at Huset’s

Super Late Model cars came to Huset’s Speedway for the first time on Tuesday night as the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series took the track more known for Sprint Car racing. Tim McCreadie came out as the winner in the RockAuto Summer Showdown.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Watertown, NY earned $10,000 for his efforts on the third-mile track located in Brandon, South Dakota in a race shown live by FloRacing.com.

A total of 19 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal(13.207), 2. Tyler Erb, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Garrett Alberson, 5. Earl Pearson Jr., 6. Spencer Hughes, 7. Garrett Smith, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. Tim McCreadie, 10. Daulton Wilson, 11. Ricky Thornton Jr., 12. Mike Marlar, 13. Ross Robinson, 14. Scott Ward, 15. Blair Nothdurft, 16. Boom Briggs, 17. Gary Brown Jr., 18. Gabe Umbarger, 19. Shawn Kirwin

Heat 1 Results: 1. Alberson, 2. Smith, 3. O’Neal, 4. Wilson, 5. Robinson, 6. Briggs, 7. Kirwin

Heat 2 Results: 1. Erb, 2. Owens, 3. Thornton, 4. Pearson, 5. Brown, 6. Ward

Heat 3 Results: 1. Sheppard, 2. McCreadie, 3. Hughes, 4. Marlar, 5. Nothdurft, 6. Umbarger

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 40-lap feature it was Erb who went to the point with Alberson, Smith, McCreadie and Sheppard following. Alberson began to fall back as Smith passed by on the second lap then McCreadie moved around one lap later.

Thornton got by Alberson on lap 4 while, further back, O’Neal challenged Sheppard for sixth. From there, Sheppard moved forward as he got by Alberson for fifth on lap 9 just before a caution flag waved for the slowing car of Briggs.

McCreadie jumped to second on the lap 9 restart. Thornton continued his climb as well when he also passed Smith to take third on lap 11. A yellow flag waved on lap 12 for a spin by Ward.

When green flag racing resumed, Thornton made a big move that took him to the lead while Sheppard moved to fourth. But a caution slowed the action when Nothdurft stopped on the backstretch on lap 14. Thornton continued to lead on the restart with McCreadie, Erb, Sheppard and Marlar in tow.

At the halfway point, the top-2 of Thornton and McCreadie looked to separate themselves from the pack. McCreadie made a bid for the lead on lap 27 but Thornton was able to fight off his advances. However, McCreadie’s efforts paid off on lap 30 when he swept by to move to the top spot on the leaderboard.

Meanwhile, Marlar and Sheppard fought for third while closing in on Thornton until a yellow flag for the stalled car of Umbarger with seven laps remaining.

McCreadie maintained the race lead on the restart with Thornton and Marlar trailing. Marlar took secongd on lap 36 then Sheppard went to third one lap later. In the end, however, it was McCreadie who would go on to claim the victory.

Feature Results:  1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Mike Marlar, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Hudson O’Neal, 6. Garrett Smith, 7. Ricky Thornton Jr., 8. Garrett Alberson, 9. Earl Pearson Jr., 10. Spencer Hughes, 11. Jimmy Owens, 12. Ross Robinson, 13. Daulton Wilson, 14. Shawn Kirwin, 15. Gabe Umbarger, 16. Blair Nothdurft, 17. Gary Brown Jr., 18. Scott Ward, 19. Boom Briggs

Please consider also reading:

Turn 2 Blog: Have we seen Scott Bloomquist’s last win?

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.