Tim McCreadie grabs Lucas Oil checkered flag at Talladega

Tim McCreadie earned a dominating victory

With just two races remaining on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series schedule for 2022, points leader Tim McCreadie put an exclamation mark on his season by rolling to a flag-to-flag win on Saturday night at the Talladega Short Track. T-mac held off a determined Ricky Thornton Jr. by skillfully working his way through traffic on a bottom-dominant track.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Watertown, NY earned $15,000 for his efforts in a race held on the track located in Eastaboga, Alabama which was shown live by FloRacing.com.

A total of 32 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Tim McCreadie(13.287), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Scott Crigler, 4. Michael Page, 5. Todd Morrow, 6. Spencer Hughes, 7. Daulton Wilson, 8. Earl Pearson Jr.

Group B Results- 1. Garrett Alberson(13.717), 2. Dale McDowell, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Sam Seawright, 5. Tyler Erb, 6. Dylan Knowles, 7. Dillon Tidmore, 8. Chase Oliver

Heat 1 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Scott Crigler, 3. Daulton Wilson, 4. Todd Morrow

Heat 2 Results: 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Spencer Hughes, 3. Michael Page, 4. Chris Mullinax

Heat 3 Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Ross Bailes

Heat 4 Results: 1. Dale McDowell, 2. Sam Seawright, 3. Dylan Knowles, 4. Shane Clanton

B-main Finish: 1. Ross Robinson, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Dillon Tidmore, 4. Dalton Cook, 5. Chase Oliver, 6. Ryan Wilson

Feature Re-cap: McCreadie grabbed the lead at the start of the 50-lap feature with Thornton, McDowell , Sheppard and Alberson trailing. The top-5 went into single-file formation for the first 14 laps until a caution flag waved for a flat tire on the Clanton machine. 

Before a lap could be completed on the restart a multi-car incident involving Crigler, O’Neal, Overton, Daulton Wilson, and Dalton Cook brought out another yellow flag. When the race finally returned to green, Alberson moved around Sheppard for fourth as McCreadie continued to lead Thornton and McDowell.

McCreadie had begun to build a significant lead until a lap 20 caution for a spin by Ryan Wilson bunched the field.

Page bolted up to fourth on the lap 20 restart trailing McCreadie, Thornton and McDowell. McCreadie again pulled away from his pursuers running in clean air at the front of the field. The leader ran into slower traffic with 15 laps to go which allowed Thornton to trim the advantage once held by the No. 39 car.

Thornton closed right to the rear spoiler of McCreadie in traffic as the laps clicked away. With the front runners circulating on the very bottom of the track, few opportunities to pass presented themselves as McCreadie continued to show the way.

In the end, it was series points leader who would sail under the checkered flag to score the win.

Feature Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Dale McDowell, 4. Michael Page, 5. Garrett Alberson, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Spencer Hughes, 8. Tyler Erb, 9. Ross Bailes, 10. Dylan Knowles, 11. Earl Pearson Jr., 12. Chris Mullinax, 13. Ryan Wilson, 14. Ross Robinson, 15. Chase Oliver, 16. Sam Seawright, 17. Brandon Overton, 18. Dillon Tidmore, 19. Todd Morrow, 20. Daulton Wilson, 21. Scott Crigler, 22. Hudson O’Neal, 23. Dalton Cook, 24. Shane Clanton

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.