Tim McCreadie claims first SpeedWeeks win of 2023 on Tuesday at Volusia

Tim McCreadie picked up his first SpeedWeeks win at Volusia

Tim McCreadie had been close to capturing wins during Georgia-Florida SpeedWeeks and Tuesday night in the Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals he accomplished that very feat by holding off late charges from Hudson O’Neal and Bobby Pierce. ‘T-Mac’ steered his No. 39 machine to victory lane in the DIRTcar Late Models-sanctioned event at Volusia Speedway Park.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Watertown, NY earned $7,000 for his efforts on the track located in Barberville, Florida in a race shown live by DirtVision.com.

A total of 51 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Blair Nothdurft(15.609), 2. Stacy Boles, 3. Mason Zeigler, 4. Payton Freeman, 5. Brent Larson

Group B Results- 1. Kyle Bronson(15.815), 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Jordan Koehler, 5. Frank Heckenast Jr.

Group C Results- 1. Brandon Overton(15.700), 2. Ashton Winger, 3. Tyler Bruening, 4. Kyle Larson, 5. Chris Madden

Group D Results- 1. Bobby Pierce(15.925), 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Donny Schatz, 4. Todd Cooney, 5. Mike Benedum

Group E Results- 1. Dale McDowell(15.902), 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Daulton Wilson, 4. Nick Hoffman, 5. Stormy Scott

Group F Results- 1. Tim McCreadie(15.891), 2. Max Blair, 3. Tanner English, 4. Brian Shirley, 5. Mike Spatola

Heat 1 Results: 1. Blair Nothdurft, 2. Brent Larson, 3. Mason Zeigler

Heat 2 Results: 1. Kyle Bronson, 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr.

Heat 3 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Ashton Winger, 3. Chris Madden

Heat 4 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Dylan Thompson, 3. Cade Dillard

Heat 5 Results: 1. Dale McDowell, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Kyle Strickler

Heat 6 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Dennis Erb Jr.

Last Chance Showdown 1 Finish: 1. Frank Heckenast Jr., 2. Payton Freeman

Last Chance Showdown 2 Finish: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Tyler Bruening

Last Chance Showdown 3 Finish: 1. Nick Hoffman, 2. Max BlairĀ 

Feature Re-cap: The 25-lap feature took the green flag with McCreadie leading Pierce, McDowell, Overton and Bronson. Pierce wasted no time as he got by McCreadie for the race lead on the second circuit. Pierce then began to slip away from the pack by leading lap 5 buy just over one second.

However, slower traffic became a factor as Overton got by McDowell for third. On lap 14, McCreadie set sail on the high side of the track going all the way to the lead. Overton then passed Pierce soon thereafter for the runner-up position. However, Pierce would fight his way back to second on lap 19.

Pierce immediately rolled up inside of McCreadie in an attempt to wrest the lead away. The first yellow flag of the night waved on lap 20 when third-running Overton slowed with a flat right rear.

At the time of the lap 20 caution the running order was McCreadie, Pierce, McDowell, Sheppard and O’Neal. On the restart, O’Neal blasted all the way up to second using the high side of the track. But Pierce would come back to take that spot away from O’Neal when O’Neal bobbled.

In the end, it was McCreadie who would cruise under the checkered flag to claim the win.

Feature Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Hudson O’Neal, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Kyle Bronson, 6. Dale McDowell, 7. Ricky Thornton Jr., 8. Brent Larson, 9. Brian Shirley, 10. Mason Zeigler, 11. Chris Madden, 12. Kyle Strickler, 13. Kyle Larson, 14. Dylan Thompson, 15. Cade Dillard, 16. Frank Heckenast Jr., 17. Dennis Erb Jr., 18. Nick Hoffman, 19. Tanner English, 20. Ashton Winger, 21. Blair Nothdurft, 22. Brandon Overton, 23. Tyler Bruening, 24. Payton Freeman, 25. Max Blair, 26. Shane Clanton

Please consider also reading:

Dennis Erb Jr. satisfied with WoO title but striving for more

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.