Stars aligning to shoot for big prize at Smoky Mountain


Brandon Sheppard(1) and Shane Clanton(25) will be among the WoO Late Models regulars at Smoky Mountain

The first national touring series race of the season to be held in east Tennessee looks to draw a star studded field to Smoky Mountain Speedway on Saturday evening when the World of Outlaws Late Model Series makes its way to the Maryville, Tennessee facility. Some of the best known drivers in the country have indicated either by their allegiance to the series, by website, or by social media that they intend to enter the ‘Tennessee Tipoff’ event that will pay $12,000 to the winner.

This race will follow the WoO Late Models race planned for the Duck River Raceway Park in Wheel, Tennessee on Friday night. These races were originally scheduled for March 8th and 9th but had to be re-set due to rain.

Obviously, the drivers who regularly compete on this tour will be signed in for competition at the 4/10 mile clay oval now solely owned by east Tennessee businessman Roger Sellers.

Former WoO Late Models champion Brandon Sheppard comes into the weekend with the early lead in the series standings. The 2017 title holder got off to a hot start during this year’s version of Georgia-Florida SpeedWeeks back in February as the Rocket Chassis house car team scored four consecutive victories at the Volusia Speedway Park near Daytona Beach, Florida.

Rounding out the top-10 in the World of Outlaws Late Model Series standings are former series champion Shane Clanton, Chris Madden, Chase Junghans, Brian Shirley, former series champion Darrell Lanigan, 2018 North-South 100 winner Ricky Weiss, Dennis Erb, Jr., Brandon Overton, and Kyle Hardy. All of those drivers are expected to be on hand this Saturday night.

With no Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event planned for this weekend, a number of stars from that tour have indicated their plans to venture toward the east Tennessee foothills. Defending LOLMDS champion Jonathan Davenport along with former title holders Jimmy Owens, Josh Richards and Don O’Neal are expected. Devin Moran, who will be piloting the Dunn Benson Motorsports car this season on the Lucas Oil tour, has indicated that he will be among those racing for the trophy and paycheck at SMS.

Jimmy Owens(20) and Cory Hedgecock are among the non regulars on the WoO Late Models tour expected

Dale McDowell, Vic Hill, Shanon Buckingham, Dakotah Knuckles, Ryan King, Robby Moses and 2018 WoO Late Models feature winner Cory Hedgecock are likely to be among those in contention for glory this weekend.

It looks to be an outstanding field set to take on the newly reconfigured Smoky Mountain Speedway on March 23rd.

More information can be found here –>

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page. 

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out for more racing content.


Comments are closed.