Skip Arp earns Late Model triumph at Smoky Mountain

Skip Arp claimed the Limited Late Model win at SMS

Along with the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series, Smoky Mountain Speedway staged racing in the Limited Late Model division on Saturday night. In the end, legendary Hall of Fame member Skip Arp who came away with the victory. The Georgetown, TN racer earned $1,200 for the win.

Arp joined Iron-Man Late Model winner Dale McDowell in making it two win for National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame winners on the night.

Kyle Courtney set the pace in qualifying by turning a lap in 17.090 seconds around the 4/10 mile clay oval to beat out Skip Arp, Jason Manley, Austin Neely, Taylor Puckett, David Crabtree, Bobby Giffin, Mike Price and Tyler Price.

At the start of the 20-lap feature it was Arp who bolted to the early lead from his outside front row starting position with Courtney, Neely, Manley and Giffin in his wake. A caution flag waved for the stalled car of Crabtree slowed the action.

Puckett moved up to take fourth from Manley on lap 3 as Arp and Courtney pulled away from their pursuers until another yellow flag slowed the pace on lap 4.

The race played out without a caution for the rest of the way with Arp leading and Courtney staying right behind and applying pressure. The battles for position were further back as Neely and Puckett fought over third.

But in the end it was Arp who would sail under the checkered flag for the win.

Feature Finish: 1. Skip Arp, 2. Kyle Courtney, 3. Austin Neely, 4. Taylor Puckett, 5. Jason Manley, 6. Bobby Giffin, 7. Mike Price, 8. David Crobtree, 9. Tyler Price

Comments are closed.