Ricky Thornton Jr. adds another Lucas Oil trophy to his collection at 300 Raceway

Ricky Thornton Jr. got the win in Iowa

Ricky Thornton Jr. continued his winning ways on Friday night in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature at 300 Raceway. It was the No. 20RT driver’s the fourth series win of 2023 in what is slated to be a two-race weekend for the tour.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Martinsville, Indiana earned $12,000 from the track located in Farley, Iowa in a race shown live by FloRacing.com.

A total of 26 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr.(14.630), 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. Jonathan Davenport, 4. Hudson O’Neal, 5. Devin Moran, 6. Tim McCreadie, 7. Daulton Wilson, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. Chad Simpson, 10. Tyler Erb

Heat 1 Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Daulton Wilson, 5. Ross Robinson, 6. Garrett Alberson, 7. Kody Evans, 8. Boom Briggs, 9. Tegan Evans

Heat 2 Results: 1. Mason Zeigler, 2. Devin Moran, 3. Spencer Hughes, 4. Jimmy Owens, 5. Jake Timm, 6. Jason Rauen, 7. Brandon Overton, 8. Daniel Hilsabeck, 9. Spencer Diercks

Heat 3 Results: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Earl Pearson Jr., 4. Chad Simpson, 5. Tyler Bruening, 6. Max Blair, 7. Joel Callahan, 8. Tim Simpson 

Feature Re-cap: Early on in the 50-lap feature it would be Zeigler who would show the way ahead of Thornton, O’Neal, Moran and McCreadie. McCreadie moved quickly by taking fourth away from Moran on the fourth lap of a race being run at a hurried pace.¬†

Thornton tracked Zeigler down in traffic and drove around for the lead of the race on lap 11.

At the time of a lap 16 yellow flag for Evans, the running order was set as Thornton leading Zeigler, O’Neal, McCreadie and Moran. McCreadie took advantage of the restart and grabbed third away from O’Neal. Tyler Erb also moved forward by making his way up to fourth on lap 18.

Following a lap 31 yellow flag for a shredded tire in the Blair machine, McCreadie would bolt to second on the ensuing restart. Further back, O’Neal wrested fourth away from Erb on lap 33.

Thornton got out to what seemed a comfortable margin but when slower traffic became a factor, the No. 39 began to close in on the No. 20RT. At the same time, O’Neal got around Zeigler for third and set off after the lead duo.

Over the final laps, Thornton would pull away from his pursuers leaving McCreadie and O’Neal to dispute second and third,

Feature Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Hudson O’Neal, 4. Mason Zeigler, 5. Tyler Erb, 6. Devin Moran, 7. Jimmy Owens, 8. Brandon Overton, 9. Chad Simpson, 10. Daulton Wilson, 11. Earl Pearson Jr., 12. Ross Robinson, 13. Jonathan Davenport, 14. Tyler Bruening, 15. Jake Timm, 16. Garrett Alberson, 17. Spencer Hughes, 18. Tegan Evans, 19. Daniel Hilsabeck, 20. Boom Briggs, 21. Joel Callahan, 22. Max Blair, 23. Jason Rauen, 24. Kody Evans, 25. Spencer Diercks, 26. Tim Simpson

Please consider also reading:

Brandon Sheppard working to silence the doubters with new team

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.com

Comments are closed.