Positions in standings still to be decided as Lucas Oil season winds down

Tim McCreadie(39) leads Hudson O’Neal(71) in the LOLMDS standings

With just three races remaining on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series schedule, Tim McCreadie holds a commanding 400 point lead over second-place Hudson O’Neal. It’s all but certain that the Watertown, New York driver will add this national championship to the World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series title he won back in 2006. The 47-year-old driver would then join Scott Bloomquist and Josh Richards as the only drivers to have won a championship on both of the current national tours.

But just because the top spot and the $75,000 that goes with it is essentially decided does not mean there aren’t contests still going on throughout the series standings. Winning the championship is worth $28,000 more than the runner-up position.

O’Neal has a solid lead over a tight battle between Jimmy Owens, Tyler Erb and Jonathan Davenport for positions 3-5 on the list. Those three drivers are separated by just 40 points with sixth-place Kyle Bronson within reach of the top-5. Finishing third in the final rundown is worth $35,000 while fourth and fifth pay $30,000 and $27,000 respectively.

Jimmy Owens(20) and Tyler Erb(1) are among those still contesting positions in the standings

Bronson, who hopes to secure at least $25,000, holds a somewhat safe lead over the next close fight for position as seventh-place Ricky Thornton Jr. is a mere 20 points ahead of Josh Richards in their tussle to decide seventh and eighth. Those two spots pay $22,500 and $20,000 respectively.

Shane Clanton is likely to earn the $17,500 for completing the tour in ninth while Earl Pearson Jr. is almost certain to take $16,500 for tenth.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will head to the state of Georgia to contest a $15,000-to-win feature at Dixie Speedway on Saturday night with that being followed up by a $10,000-to-win event on Sunday evening. The tour will conclude on October 16th in Ohio with the $100,000-to-win Dirt Track World Championship at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.