Poore, Courtney and Watson earn feature wins at 411

The Mitch and Tanya McCarter owned 411 Motor Speedway hosted its annual breast cancer awareness event on Saturday night and solid fields of support class drivers were on hand to do battle on the Seymour, Tenn. track.

David Kerr started from the pole position ahead of a field of 17 cars in the Sportsman class but it was outside front row starter Terry Poore who jumped to the early lead in the 20-lap feature event. Rex Coffey, Clyde Stanton and Wayne Rader pursued the top-2 early on in what proved to be a caution filled race.

Coffey persistently applied pressure on Kerr after each restart in an attempt to take the runner-up spot while Stanton sat poised to advance his position as well. On lap 11, Coffey’s efforts finally paid off as he moved around Kerr to take 2nd and set off in pursuit of Poore.

As the laps clicked away, Coffey began to chip into Poore’s advantage until he was able to make a move for the top spot with just three circuits remaining. However, Poore was able fight off the challenge and drive to the win.

At the finish it was Terry Poore, Rex Coffey, David Kerr, Clyde Stanton and Wayne Rader.

A happy crew celebrates Terry Poore's Sportsman win at 411.

A happy crew celebrates Terry Poore’s Sportsman win at 411.

Michael Courtney has had a dominate season in the Mini Stock division and that continued on Saturday night.

Courtney won the first heat race in that class while John Byers captured the second preliminary for the four cylinder cars.

At the start of the 25-lap feature, Byers was able to keep Courtney in his sights during the early laps of the race, but it would not be long before Courtney began to draw away from the pack. Ultimately, the #41 car would pull out to a lead of more than a straightaway on his way to the win.

At the finish, Michael Courtney was first to the finish line with John Byers, Nick Perry, Chris Griffin and Jason Gregory trailing.

Michael Courtney and crew in the 411 Victory Lane.

Michael Courtney and crew in the 411 Victory Lane.

The Street Stocks staged what was perhaps the race of the night as the top spot was in question right to the very end.

Heat race winners David Price and Dale Watson led the field of 19 cars to the green flag in the night’s first feature event.

Watson went to the lead immediately with Chris Rickett and Shannon Emery glued to his rear bumper. Those two cars ran multiple laps in side-by-side formation as they challenged for the lead at the same time.

Rickett would see his chances evaporate on lap 8 when he suffered a flat tire. That would open the door for Jeff McLemore to emerge as the newest challenger within the top-3. However, Watson was ultimately able to build a slight advantage on his rivals.

The racing remained tight to the very end. At the finish, it was Dale Watson earning the win over Shannon emery, Jeff McLemore, David Price and David Clark.

Dale Watson and crew after the Street Stock feature at 411.

Dale Watson and crew after the Street Stock feature at 411.





Comments are closed.