Mike Marlar wires Lucas Oil field at Ponderosa

Mike Marlar topped the Lucas Oil field at Ponderosa

Ponderosa Speedway has been the scene of numerous successes of Mike Marlar and on Friday night that continued as the No. 157 machine led all 50 laps of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature race on ‘Kentucky’s Baddest Bullring’ to capture the top prize. After a long hiatus, this was the second of a three-race weekend with the finale coming on Saturday night at the Florence Speedway.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Winfield, Tennessee earned $12,000 for his efforts on the track located in Junction City, Kentucky.

A total of 31 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Jonathan Davenport (12.785), 2. Daulton Wilson, 3. Camaron Marlar, 4. Garrett Alberson, 5. Mike Marlar, 6. Spencer Hughes, 7. Ross Robinson, 8. Tim McCreadie, 9. Cory Hedgecock, 10. Kyle Strickler

Group B Results- 1. Brandon Overton (12.631), 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Josh Rice, 4. Max Blair, 5. Ricky Thornton Jr, 6. Zack Dohm, 7. Earl Pearson Jr, 8. Eli Beets, 9. Justin Ratliff, 10. Tyler Erb

Heat 1 Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Jonathan Davenport, 3. Ross Robinson, 4. Cory Hedgecock

Heat 2 Results: 1. Daulton Wilson, 2. Spencer Hughes, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Kyle Strickler

Heat 3 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Josh Rice, 4. Earl Pearson Jr.

Heat 4 Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Max Blair, 3. Zack Dohm, 4. Tyler Erb

B-main Finish: 1. Jimmy Owens, 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Garrett Smith, 5. David Webb, 6. Dustin Linville

Feature Re-cap: Marlar went to the early lead when the 50-lap feature took the green flag ahead of Overton, Wilson, O’Neal and Davenport. The top-5 sorted themselves out in single-file formation during the early laps as the quickly began to gain on those they tail of the field.

O’Neal moved around Wilson to grab third then when traffic became a factor, the intensity level turned up. O’Neal closed in on Overton to challenge for second while both of those drivers kept Marlar in their sights.

A lap 21 caution briefly slowed the pace as Marlar continued to lead over Overton, O’Neal, Wilson and Davenport. On the ensuing restart, O’Neal was able to wrest second away from Overton while Davenport moved to fourth and Thornton came to fifth kicking Wilson out of the top-5.

During the race’s second half, Kentucky favorite Rice moved in to work on Thornton for fifth while Marlar continuing to lead as O’Neal moved in to harass. But as the laps began to click away, Marlar began to slip away from his pursuers eventually sailing under the checkered flag for the victory.

Click on the play button below to hear a post-race interview with Mike Marlar

Feature Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Brandon Overton, 4. Jonathan Davenport, 5. Ricky Thornton Jr., 6. Josh Rice, 7. Spencer Hughes, 8. Tyler Erb, 9. Zack Dohm, 10. Devin Moran, 11. Daulton Wilson, 12. Garrett Alberson, 13. Cory Hedgecock, 14. Max Blair, 15. Tim McCreadie, 16. Ross Robinson, 17. David Webb, 18. Tyler Bruening, 19. Garrett Smith, 20. Logan Roberson, 21. Boom Briggs, 22. Kyle Strickler, 23. Jimmy Owens, 24. Earl Pearson Jr., 25. Dustin Linville, 26. Camaron Marlar

Please consider also reading:

Hudson O’Neal victorious in Lucas Oil thriller at Atomic

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.com

Comments are closed.