Michael Page grabs Ice Bowl pole position


Michael Page will start the Ice Bowl feature from the pole

The 30th annual Ice Bowl officially got underway on Saturday at Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, AL. The event that typically runs on the weekend just after the New Year’s holiday is being shown live by FloRacing.com and drew 32 Super Late Model cars for preliminary action leading up to Sunday’s $6,000-to-win feature race.

Michael Page of Douglasville, GA has won the last four Ice Bowl features and will start Sunday’s feature from the pole position alongside Talladega’s Dallas Cooper.

Michael Page was fastest in SLM Group A qualifying as he toured the third-mile clay oval in 14.224 seconds to beat out Chris Jones, Scott Crigler, Chad Thrash and Todd Morrow.

Dallas Cooper led the way in Group B time-trials with a lap of 14.902 seconds topping Oreo Thomas, David Brannon, Houston Spurlock and Rod Carroll.

Sam Seawright proved to be quickest in Group C qualifying with a lap of 14.363 seconds to outperform John Ownbey, Christian Hanger, Andy Picklesimer and Jason Hiett.

Finally, it was Randy Weaver who set the pace in Group D time-trials with a lap of 14.579 seconds to best Dillon Tidmore, Blake Craft, Mark Page and Landon Gentry.

Michael Page earned the pole for the feature by winning the first heat race of the night ahead of Todd Morrow, Chris Jones, and Scott Crigler.

Dallas Cooper was the victor in the second preliminary over Oreo Thomas, David Brannon, and Houston Spurlock.

Sam Seawright took the checkered flag in the third heat by beating out John Ownbey, Christian Hanger, and Jason Hiett.

Randy Weaver beat the field to the finish line in the fourth and final heat ahead of Dillon Tidmore, Blake Craft and Mark Page.

Unofficial Partial Feature Lineup: 1. Michael Page, 2. Sam Seawright, 3. Randy Weaver, 4. Dallas Cooper, 5. Todd Morrow, 6. John Ownbey, 7. Dillon Tidmore, 8. Oreo Thomas, 9. Chris Jones, 10. Christian Hanger, 11. Blake Craft, 12. David Brannon, 13. Scott Crigler, 14. Jason Hiett, 15. Mark Page, 16. Houston Spurlock

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the InsideDirtRacing.com Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.