Marlar, McCreadie set to lead Silver Dollar Nationals to green at I-80


Mike Marlar will start from the pole at I-80

After Chris Madden scored a dominating win on Thursday night in the Dirt Track Bank Go 50 at I-80 Speedway, the competitors on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series began the process of setting the starting lineup for one of their most lucrative events. The $53,000-to-win Imperial Tile Silver Dollar Nationals will be contested on Saturday night so Friday’s action at the Greenwood, Nebraska facility was used to determine how the field would line up for that race.

The track and series would employ a passing points system in two sets of heat races to determine the top-18 starters in Saturday’s main event. The remainder of the field will be decided in Saturday’s B-main races.

Heat Race lineups extracted from My Race Pass.

Round 1 Heat 1


Round 1 Heat 1 Finish: 1. Nick Hoffman, 2. Jimmy Owens, 3. Mason Zeigler, 4. Chris Spieker, 5. Justin Zeitner, 6. Chris Madden, 7. John Anderson, 8. Garrett Alberson, 9. Blair Nothdurft, 10. Ben Schaller, 11. Daniel Hilsabeck, 12. Terry Phillips

Round 1 Heat 1 Re-cap: Hoffman led all the way from his outside front row starting position. Spieker moved from 8th to 4th.


Round 1 Heat 2

Round 1 Heat 2 Finish: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Devin Moran, 3. Johnny Scott, 4. Matt Furman, 5. Charlie McKenna, 6. Aaron Marrant, 7. Dale McDowell, 8. Ross Robinson, 9. Allan Hoop, 10. Mike Collins, 11. Dan Battaglia, 12. Colby Moore

Round 1 Heat 2 Re-cap: McCreadie led all the way. The top-3 finished well ahead of the rest of the pack. Scott went from 6th to 3rd.


Round 1 Heat 3

Round 1 Heat 3 Finish: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Chase Junghans, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Tyler Bruening, 6. Cade Dillard, 7. Stormy Scott, 8. Jason Papich, 9. Kyle Bronson, 10. Daulton Wilson, 11. Tyler Erb, 12. Spencer Hughes

Round 1 Heat 3 Re-cap: Davenport got out to the early lead and dominated. The racing for positions 2-5 was intense. Hughes brought out a caution when he slowed on track. Sheppard brushed the wall at one point but rallied from 8th to 4th.

Round 1 Heat 4

Round 1 Heat 4 Finish: 1. Kyle Strickler, 2. Mike Marlar, 3. Shane clanton, 4. Chad Simpson, 5. Ryan Gustin, 6. Garrett Smith, 7. Bill Leighton, 8. Jake Neal, 9. Cole Osborn, 10. Dusty Leonard, 11. Doug Burgess, 12. Todd Cooney

Round 1 Heat 4 Re-cap: Strickler took the lead from the outside of the front row and led all the way. Marlar charged from 9th to 2nd.

Round 1 Heat 5

Round 1 Heat 5 Finish: 1. Earl Pearson Jr., 2. Max Blair, 3. Ricky Thronton Jr., 4. Boom Briggs, 5. Andrew Kosiski, 6. Chris Simpson, 7. Hudson O’Neal, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Jesse Sobbing, 10. Ricky Weiss, 11. Jake Timm, 12. Tad Pospisil

Round 1 Heat 5 Re-cap: Pearson took the lead at the start from his third starting position then drove away from the field. Thornton rose from 6th to 3rd.

Round 2 Heat 1

Round 2 Heat 1 Finish: 1. Tyler Erb, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Hudson O’Neal, 4. Tad Pospisil, 5. Chad Simpson, 6. Daniel Hilsabeck, 7. Boom Briggs, 8. Garrett smith, 9. Blair Nothdurft, 10. Mason Zeigler, 11. Aaron Marrant, 12. Colby Moore

Round 2 Heat 1 Re-cap: Erb took the lead early on from his 4th starting position but Pospisil stayed on his rear spoiler for much of the way. Moore brought out a caution when he spun on lap 11. Pierce took second on the lap 11 restart from his 9th starting spot but Erb was too far out front by that time.

Round 2 Heat 2

Round 2 Heat 2 Finish: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr., 2. Jesse Sobbing, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Max Blair, 5. Tyler Bruening, 6. Kyle Strickler, 7. Ross Robinson, 8. Toss Conley, 9. Mike Collins, 10. Dusty Leonard, 11. Chris Madden, 12. John Anderson

Round 2 Heat 2 Re-cap: Madden spun going for the lead in turn one on the start suffering significant damage when he hit the outside wall. Bruening, Leonard, Collins and Anderson also were caught up in the mishap. With those cars being knocked out of the race, there were some big movers. Thornton won from 7th, Strickler came from 11th to 6th and Blair rose from 12th to 4th.

Round 2 Heat 3

Round 2 Heat 3 Finish: 1. Ricky Weiss, 2. Kyle Bronson, 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Garrett Alberson, 5. Bill Leighton, 6. Terry Phillips, 7. Devin Moran, 8. Jason Papich, 9. Charlie McKenna, 10. Cole Osborn, 11. Doug Burgess, 12. Andrew Kosiski

Round 2 Heat 3 Re-cap: Third-starting Weiss passed Bronson for the lead on lap 11 then drove to the win. Moran moved from 10th to 7th, Papaich came from 11th to 8th and Phillips finished 6th after starting 9th.

Round 2 Heat 4

Round 2 Heat 4 Finish: 1. Brian Shirley, 2. Daulton Wilson, 3. Tim McCreadie, 4. Chase Junghans, 5. Jimmy Owens, 6. Jonathan Davenport, 7. Jake Neal, 8. Ryan Gustin, 9. Chris Simpson, 10. Chris Spieker, 11. Allan Hopp, 12. Dan Battaglia

Round 2 Heat 4 Re-cap: Shirley passed Wilson for the lead on lap 8 then went on to win. Owens moved from 10th to 5th, Junghans went from 7th to 4th, Davenport started 12th and ended in 6th while McCreadie rose from 11th to 3rd.

Round 2 Heat 5

Round 2 Heat 5 Finish: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Dale McDowell, 3. Spencer Hughes, 4. Cade Dillard, 5. Earl Pearson Jr., 6. Johnny Scott, 7. Shane clanton, 8. Nick Hoffman, 9. Jake timm, 10. Matt Furman, 11. Justin Zeitner, 12. Ben Schaller

Round 2 Heat 5 Re-cap: A crash on the start involving Zeitner, Dillard, Hoffman and Schaller caused a complete restart. Zeitner brought out a caution on lap 3 when he tangled with Dillard. Marlar passed McDowell on lap 9 for the lead.

The top-18 starters for Saturday’s Silver Dollar Nationals:

1. Mike Marlar, 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Ricky Thornton Jr., 5. Max Blair, 6. Jimmy Owens, 7. Jonathan Davenport, 8. Jimmy Owens, 9. Chase Junghans, 10. Brandon Sheppard, 11. Kyle Strickler, 12. Chad Simpson, 13. Devin Moran, 14. Nick Hoffman, 15. Johnny Scott, 16. Dale McDowell, 17. Brian Shirley, 18. Tyler Bruening

Please consider also reading:

Chris Madden tops Lucas Oil field on Thursday at I-80

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.



Comments are closed.