Mack McCarter nabs Volunteer CLM feature as Welshan, Sise battle


Mack McCarter grabbed the win when Welshan and Sise tangled

The Crate Late Model division took part in the “Grinch at the Gap” event and the race played out to a thrilling ending. Mack McCarter took the win after the top-2 drivers ahead of him engaged in a fierce battle that opened the door to his eventual win. The Gatlinburg, TN racer earned $1,500 for his efforts.

It was the third win in as many tries for McCarter since a switch to a new CVR Race Car. He swept last weekend’s Crate Late Model features at 411 Motor Speedway.

Jason Welshan was fastest in qualifying after he turned a lap in 12.998 seconds around the 4/10 mile clay oval. Mack McCarter, Zach Sise, Carder Miller, Taylor Coffman, Adam Ahl, Logan Roberson, Aaron Guinn, Bryson Mitchell and Richie Edwards rounded out the top-10 on the starting grid.

Welshan bolted to the lead at the start of the 30-lap feature with Sise, McCarter, Miller, and Guinn trailing. Guinn went on the charge as he took fourth from Miller on the second circuit.

Welshan began to work through slower traffic until a caution waved for a mishap involving Braden Mitchell and Tommy Eastridge on lap 7. When the race returned to green, McCarter and Sise fought for second while Guinn and Miller contested the fourth spot.

In the race’s middle stages the top-5 of Welshan, McCarter, Sise, Guinn and Miller pulled away from the pack. But a lap 26 caution set up a final run to the finish that would prove to be thrilling.

On the lap 26 restart, Sise used a slide job to get by Welshan as they raced through turn two. The two continued to battle down the backstretch and into turn three. More contact between the two caused both to get out of shape. In the meantime, McCarter took to the high side and passed by both.

On the final lap, Welshan attempted a slide job to get back around Sise. Again, contact ensued on the backstretch into turn three. After contact, Welshan spun while Sise continued on after Guinn passed by both.

McCarter sailed under the checkered flag for the win while Welshan went to the scales to confront Sise. After officials intervened, both sides were sent back to their haulers.

Feature Finish: 1. Mack McCarter, 2. Aaron Guinn, 3. Zach Sise, 4. Carder Miller, 5. Shannon Emery, 6. Jason Welshan, 7. Michael Bland, 8. Samuel Bryant, 9. Richie Edwards, 10. Jamie Stanley, 11. Chris Raines, 12. Adam Ahl, 13. Chris Coffey, 14. Brian Blevins, 15. Lucas Fuller, 16. Logan Roberson, 17. Taylor Coffman, 18. Bryson Mitchell, 19. Braden Mitchell, 20. Tommy Eastridge, 21. Josh Vineyard

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.


Comments are closed.