Live Updates: Spring Nationals at I-75 Raceway(4-16-21)

Facebooktwitter will be providing live updates from the $5,053-to-win Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals event at I-75 Raceway in Sweetwater, TN on Friday, April 16, 2021. The updates will be provided by Richard Allen(@RichardAllenIDR on Twitter and @RichardAllenIDR on Instagram).

These updates are brought to you by Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. The next event will be the ‘Rockin in the Smokies’ event featuring a $5,000-to-win Southern All Stars race for Super Late Models as well as a $5,000-to-win Steel Block Bandits race for Limited Late Models. This event will take place on April 17, 2021.

General Information:

Weather is expected to be cool with little to no chance for rain.

The drivers meeting is slated to begin at 6:30pm with hot laps and racing action to follow soon afterwards.

The feature race will be 53 laps for $5,053.

This is the second race of the 2021 season for the Spring Nationals.

Jonathan Davenport won the Spring Nats season opener at Tazewell Speedway.

This race has been rescheduled twice due to weather issues.

The entire Spring Nationals season was lost in 2020 due to the pandemic. Dale McDowell was the champion in 2019.

6:45- Drivers meeting ended.

7:00- Hot laps for all classes underway.

8:44- Seem to be having some timing & scoring issues during qualifying.

Please also consider reading: Passion runs deep with Tyler Erb & Ricky Thornton, Jr. believes even more success is in the offing

Live Updates:

Spring Nationals Super Late Models

Car Count: 32 cars

Drivers Here: 00- Ruben Mayfield, 3- Steve Smith, 3D- Dakotah Smith, c5- David Crabtree, 7m- Donald McIntosh, 07- Jason Cardwell, 7G- Craig Greer, 8- David Payne, J8- Jadon Frame, 9- John Ownbey, 11B- Stacy Boles, 14- Johnny Cloer, 16- Sam Seawright, 17m- Dale McDowell, 17- Colton Proffitt, 18x- Michael Page, 22- Will Roland, 23- Cory Hedgecock, 24H- Phil Helton, 29- Christian Hanger, 31- Tyler Millwood, 35- Matt Tharp, 44- Chase King, 47- Tim Rucker, 51- Ryan Winchester, 56- Joey Standridge, 76- Brandon Overton, 83- Jensen Ford, 86- Jeff Neubert, 90- John Llewellyn, 97- Michael Chilton, 101- Forrest Trent, 156- Andy Standridge, 995- Manny Falcon

Qualifying Results: There will be two qualifying groups. The top-4 from each group will be locked into the feature.

Group A Results- 1. McDowell(14.562), 2. Ford, 3. Millwood, 4. Proffitt

Group B Results- 1. Page(14.72), 2. Hedgecock, 3. Cardwell, 4. King

Heat Race Results: There will be two heats with the top-6 from each transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Finish- 1. McIntosh, 2. Ownbey, 3. Roland, 4. Llewellyn, 5. Boles, 6. Mayfield

Heat 2 Finish- 1. Overton, 2. Frame, 3. Crabtree, 4. Falcon, 5. Hanger, 6. Payne

B-main Results:

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup- 1. McDowell, 2. Page, 3. Ford, 4. Hedgecock, 5. Millwood, 6. Cardwell, 7. Proffitt, 8. King, 9. McIntosh, 10. Overton, 11. Ownbey, 12. Frame, 13. Roland, 14. Crabtree, 15. Llewellyn, 16. Falcon, 17. Boles, 18. Hanger, 19. Mayfield, 20. Payne, 21. Neubert, 22. Cloer

10:40- Feature rolling out. 53 laps for $5,053.

10:47- Four wide!

10:50- Green flag!

Lap 6 caution for Hanger. McDowell leads Ford, Page, Hedgecock, Cardwell, King, Overton, Millwood

Lap 8 caution for spin by third running Ford. McDowell leads Page, Cardwell, Overton, Hedgecock, King, Frame, Millwood

Lap 14 caution for spin involving Neubert and Cloer. McDowell leads Overton, Page, Cardwell, Hedgecock, King, Frame, Millwood, McIntosh, Ownbey

Lap 38 caution for Proffitt. Overton took the lead on lap 23. He leads Page, McDowell, Hedgecock, Cardwell, King, Millwood, Ownbey, Roland.

Overton dominated the second half of the feature.

Feature Results: 1. Overton, 2. Page, 3. McDowell, 4. Hedgecock, 5. Millwood, 6. Ownbey, 7. King, 8. Cardwell, 9. Falcon, 10. Roland

Dale McDowell was the 2019 Spring Nationals champion


Comments are closed.