Live Updates: Lucas Oil Late Models at Cherokee Speedway(6-14-19)

Facebooktwitter will be providing live updates from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned ‘Grassy Smith Memorial’ at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC on Friday evening, June 14, 2019. The updates will be provided by Richard Allen(@RichardAllenIDR on Twitter and @RichardAllenIDR on Instagram).

These updates are brought to you by Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, Tenn. The next event coming to SMS will be the ‘Big Daddy 75’ for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on June 15, 2019.

Classes in action: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series for $12,000-to-win(50 laps) as well as the track’s weekly classes.

*Please Note: These updates will focus solely on the LOLMDS race.

General Information:

Weather is expected to be warm with little to no chance for rain.

The drivers meeting is slated for 7:00pm with hot laps to follow soon afterward.

Scott Bloomquist was the winner of this event in 2018.

Jonathan Davenport holds a commanding lead in the LOLMDS standings over a tie between Tyler Erb and Earl Pearson, Jr. for second with Josh Richards, Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, Jimmy Owens, Hudson O’Neal, Kyle Bronson and Don O’Neal completing the top-10.

Jonathan Davenport has scored a top-5 in every LOLMDS feature so far in 2019.

7:20- Drivers meeting concluded.

7:30- Hot laps for all classes underway.

Photos: I often post photos and/or short videos on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account and my @RichardAllenIDR Instagram account if you would like to take a look.

Please also consider reading: Shane Clanton to replace Chris Madden at Skyline Motorsports & Lucas Oil Series set for big weekend; Bloomquist plans to race 

Live Updates:

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Car Count: 31 cars

Drivers Here: 0- Scott Bloomquist, 00- Jeff Smith, 1- Tyler Erb, 1- Earl Pearson, Jr., 1- Devin Moran, 2- Dennis Franklin, 2- Brandon Overton, 2- Stormy Scott, 03- David Handle, 5- Don O’Neal, 14- Josh Richards, 20- Jimmy Owens, 21- Billy Moyer, Jr., 22- Chris Ferguson, 27- Chris Madden, 39- Tim McCreadie, 40- Kyle Bronson, 42- Doug Sanders, 49- Jonathan Davenport, 50- Shanon Buckingham, 55- Benji Hicks, 57- Zack Mitchell, 57Y- Adam Yarbrough, 71- Hudson O’Neal, 75- Donald Bradsher, 79- Michael Brown, 87- Ross Bailes, 88- Trent Ivey, D89- Dustin Mitchell, 91- Derrick Ramey, 157- Mike Marlar

Qualifying Results: Drivers will split into two qualifying groups.

Group A Results- 1. Marlar(14.937), 2. Davenport, 3. Richards, 4. McCreadie, 5. Franklin, 6. Ramey, 7. Buckingham, 8. Scott, 9. Madden, 10. Overton, 11. H O’Neal, 12. Smith, 13. D O’Neal, 14. Moran, 15. Bradsher, 16. D Mitchell

Group B Results- 1. Bailes(14.909), 2. Ferguson, 3. Bloomquist, 4. Ivey, 5. Pearson, 6. Owens, 7. Z Mitchell, 8. Erb, 9. Yarbrough, 10. Bronson, 11. Moyer, 12. Hicks, 13. Yandle, 14. Brown, 15. Sanders

Heat Race Results: There will be four heats with the top-4 from each transferring to the feature.

Heat 1 Lineup- 1. Marlar, 2. Richards, 3. Franklin, 4. Buckingham, 5. Madden, 6. H O’Neal, 7. D O’Neal, 8. Bradsher

Heat 1 Finish- 1. Marlar, 2. Franklin, 3. Buckingham, 4. D O’Neal … Richards, Madden, H O’Neal, Bradsher

*Marlar won by a straightaway. Richards was running third until the final lap when he suffered a flat tire.

Heat 2 Lineup- 1. Davenport, 2. McCreadie, 3. Ramey, 4. Scott, 5. Overton, 6. Smith, 7. Moran, 8. D Mitchell

Heat 2 Finish- 1. Davenport, 2. McCreadie, 3. Overton, 4. Ramey … Moran, D Mitchell, Smith, Scott

Davenport led all the way but the top-3 stayed tightly bunched.

Heat 3 Lineup- 1. Bailes, 2. Bloomquist, 3. Pearson, 4. Z Mitchell, 5. Yarbrough, 6. Moyer, 7. Yandle, 8. Sanders

Heat 3 Finish- 1. Bailes, 2. Pearson, 3. Z Mitchell, 4. Moyer … Yarbrough, Sanders, Yandle, Bloomquist

*Bailes dominated. Bloomquist and Pearson traded second twice with Bloomquist retaking it on the last lap.

**Bloomquist was light at the scales so his second place finish was negated.

Heat 4 Lineup- 1. Ferguson, 2. Ivey, 3. Owens, 4. Erb, 5. Bronson, 6. Hicks, 7. Brown

Heat 4 Finish- 1. Ferguson, 2. Owens, 3. Erb, 4. Brown … Bronson, Hicks, Ivey

*Great race between Ferguson and Owens. Ivey led early but had trouble on lap three.

B-main Results: There will be one B-main with the top-6 transferring to the feature.

1. Richards, 2. Madden, 3. Bronson, 4. Moran, 5. Yarbrough, 6. H O’Neal

Feature Notes:

Feature Lineup- 1. Marlar, 2. Bailes, 3. Davenport, 4. Ferguson, 5. Franklin, 6. Pearson, 7. McCreadie, 8. Owens, 9. Buckingham, 10. Z Mitchell, 11. Overton, 12. Erb, 13. D O’Neal, 14. Moyer, 15. Ramey, 16. Brown, 17. Richards, 18. Madden, 19. Bronson, 20. Moran, 21. Yarbrough, 22. H O’Neal, 23. Scott, 24. Bloomquist

10:50- Feature rolling out. 50 laps for $12,000.

10:54- Doing a little track prep.

11:05- Four wide!

11:08- Green flag!

Lap 10 caution for Bloomquist slow on track. Marlar had built a nice lead but had just caught the tail of the field. Bailes, Davenport, Franklin, McCreadie, Ferguson, Buckingham, Owens, Pearson and Overton are the top-10.

Lap 16 caution. Marlar leads Davenport, Bailes, McCreadie, Franklin, Ferguson, Owens, D O’Neal, Buckingham, Overton

Lap 17 caution for Moran and Yarbrough. Marlar leads Bailes, Davenport, McCreadie, Franklin.

Lap 27 caution for debris. Marlar had a big lead but Davenport was catching him in traffic.

Marlar dominated but Davenport, Bailes and Owens reeled him in over the closing laps as Marlar battled traffic.

Bailes slowed on the last lap.

Feature Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Davenport, 3. Owens, 4. McCreadie, 5. D O’Neal, 6. Bailes, 7. Ferguson, 8. Overton, 9. Richards, 10. Erb, 11. Buckingham, 12. Franklin, 13. Pearson, 14. Bronson, 15. Z Mitchell, 16. H O’Neal, 17. Madden, 18. Scott, 19. Moyer, 20. Moran, 21. Yarbrough, 22. Brown, 23. Ramey, 24. Bloomquist

Kyle Bronson won at Fayetteville on Thursday night


Comments are closed.