Live Updates from the Spring Nationals from the Volunteer Speedway(Saturday)


We will be providing live updates from the Spring Nationals race as well as support classes from the Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, TN for Saturday night, March 15, 2014.

These updates are brought to you by Tennessee RV. Click here to visit their website for all your RV sales and service needs.

To follow along, simply scroll down and look under each heading for that particular class. Also, refresh the page frequently as new information will be added often.

Classes in action: 

Spring Nationals Super Late Models(60 laps for $10,000-to-win)

Limited(Steelhead) Late Models(30 laps for $1,000-to-win)

Time: The drivers meeting is set for 6:00pm with hot laps to follow soon afterwards.

6:10- No word on a drivers meeting.

Weather: The forecast calls for clear skies with a daytime high around 60 degrees.

Photos: I often post pictures on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account if you would like to take a look.

General Information: This is the opening weekend of the Ray Cook promoted Spring Nationals. Tonight’s race is the second of a double header at the Volunteer Speedway. Jimmy Owens won the $4,000 first prize on Friday night.

Tonight’s schedule:

1. Super LM qualifying

2. Limited LM qualifying

3. Super LM heats(top-4 transfer)

4. Limited LM consi(if needed)

5. Super LM consi(top-3 transfer)

6. Limited LM feature(30 laps)

7. Super LM feature(60 laps)

Live Updates:

Spring Nationals Super Late Models 

Drivers here- 32 cars

Qualifying Group A- Vic Hill, Michael Chilton, Tom Maddox, Jimmy Owens, Eric Wells, Ryan King, Kenny Collins, Scott Bloomquist, Billy Ogle, Jr., Austin Smith, David Payne, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Donald McIntosh, Jeff Franklin, Gabe Wilson, Chris Chandler.

Qualifying Group B- Stacy Boles, Steve Casebolt, Joe Denby, Mike Marlar, Dustin Linville, Brandon Carter, Tommy Kerr, Bobby Mayse, Mark Vineyard, Mark Douglas, Sammie Russell, Chad Ogle, Victor Lee, Casey Roberts, Chris Madden, Mack McCarter

7:05- Cars rolling out for hot laps.

7:30- Hot laps over.

7:40- Qualifying about to begin. No one locked in via time-trials tonight.

Group A Qualifying results: Scott Bloomquist(12.227) was fastest followed by Wells, Owens, B Ogle, Payne and Hill.

Group B Qualifying results: Chris Madden(12.557) was fastest followed by Boles, Marlar, Douglas and C Ogle.

Things moving quickly so no time to post heat race lineups. I will go as far back in the finish order as possible for each race.

8:25- Heats about to begin. Top-4 will transfer from each.

Heat 1 finish- Owens wins over Bloomquist, McIntosh, Payne… Smith, Franklin, Maddox.

Heat 2 finish- Wells wins over B Ogle, Wolfenbarger, Hill…Collins, Wilson, Chilton, Chandler

Heat 3 finish- Madden wins over Marlar, Kerr, C Ogle…Vineyard, Lee, Denby.

Heat 4 finish- Douglas wins over Boles, Roberts, McCarter… Casebolt, Carter, Linville.

9:10- B-main 1 rolling out. Top-3 will transfer to the feature.

B-main 1 finish- Smith, Chilton, Wilson.

B-main 2 finish- Vineyard, Lee, Linville.

9:45- Feature rolling out.

A redraw among the heat race winners set the first four starters as Wells, Douglas, Owens and Madden.

60 laps for $10,000.

10:00- Four wide!

10:02- Green flag!

Lap 9 caution. Linville was attempting to pull off and Owens got into him. Wells leads Madden, Owens, Bloomquist, Douglas, Marlar, B Ogle.

Very sorry for lack of updates. We experienced a server error.

Madden wins over Bloomquist, Wells, B Ogle, Marlar, McIntosh, Roberts, Boles, Kerr, C Ogle, McCarter.

Owens slowed immediately on the restart after he tangled with the slower car.

Madden took the lead on lap 22 then had to hold off a strong challenge from Bloomquist over the second half of the event.

Limited(Steelhead) Late Models

Drivers here- 11 cars

Brent Hensley, Layne Clifton, Josh Henry, Vic Chandler, Jason Manley, Greg Estes, Mike Smith, Gary Crittenden, Greg Martin, Creed Hance, Heath Alvey.

7:30- Hot laps beginning.

Qualifying results: Greg Estes was fastest followed by Manley, Henry, Clifton and Alvey.

9:00- No need for Limited LM consi. Hot lap session ongoing now.

9:30- Feature rolling out.

9:32- Green flag!

Lap 10- Caution free. Manley leads Estes, Henry and Martin.

Lap 27 caution for spin. Manley had big lead but now Henry, Estes and Martin close in.

Finish- Josh Henry passes Manley in last turn of last lap for the win. Estes, Martin, Alvey and Clifton followed.

Comments are closed.