Live Updates from the Lucas Oil race at Cherokee Speedway


We will be providing live updates from the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race from the Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, SC for Friday night, June 20, 2014. Tonight’s updates are being provided by Richard Allen( @RichardAllenIDR on Twitter).

These updates are brought to you by Tennessee RV. Click here to visit their website for all your RV sales and service needs.

To follow along, simply scroll down and look under each heading for that particular class. Also, refresh the page frequently as new information will be added often.

Classes in action: 

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series


Drivers meeting is set for 7:00 with cars to hit the track around 7:30..


Weather is expected to be hot with a slight chance for isolate thunderstorms.

General Information:

Jimmy Owens and Don O’Neal have combined to win each of the last 5 LOLMDS events.

Don O’Neal holds the LOLMDS points lead coming into this weekend over Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Earl Pearson, Jr. and Steve Francis.

This race is part of a double header weekend for the LOLMDS. The series will move to the Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN on Saturday evening.

*With this race being outside our normal coverage area, these updates will be limited to the Lucas Oil race.

6:35- The pits are filling up on this hot evening in Gaffney. Driver list will be posted here after the drivers meeting.

7:00- Drives meeting underway.

Casey Roberts is debuting a brand new Longhorn Chassis tonight.

8:25- Lucas qualifying underway.

9:15- Lucas heat races set to go.


I often post pictures on my @RichardAllenIDR Twitter account if you would like to take a look.

Live Updates:


Drivers Here: 28 cars

91p- Jason Papich, 28- Eddie Carrier, Jr., 1w- Ricky Weeks, 15- Steve Francis, 2f- Dennis Franklin, 421- Anthony Sanders, 22- Chris Ferguson, 6- Jonathan Davenport, 17m- Dale McDowell, 618- Kevin Wilson, 87- Ross Bailes, 5e- Brandon Overton, 0- Scott Bloomquist, 44- Earl Pearson, Jr., 1j- Jason Hiett, 20- Jimmy Owens, 44m- Chris Madden, 777- Jared Landers, 12- Jason Hughes, 23- John Blankenship, 09- Johnny Pursley, 57- Zack Mitchell, 5- Don O’Neal, 42- Doug Sanders, 28e- Dennis Erb, Jr., 1d- Brent Dixon, 5j- Eric Jacobsen, 101- Casey Roberts.

There will be three heat races transferring the top-6 from each. There will be one B-main transferring the top-4 to the feature. There will be two provisionals.

8:05- Hot laps for the Lucas cars about to begin.

Jonathan Davenport fastest in group 1 hot laps with a lap of 15.208 seconds.

Scott Bloomquist fastest in group 2 hot laps with a lap of 15.683 seconds.

Don O’Neal was fastest in group 3 hot laps with a lap of 15.512 seconds.

Qualifying Results: 1. Don O’Neal, 2. Scott Bloomquist, 3. Brandon Overton.

Those three drivers will start on the pole for their respective heat races.

Heat 1 lineup:

Row 1- O’Neal… Carrier

Row 2- Roberts… Erb

Row 3- Pearson… Madden

Row 4- Pursley… Landers

Row 5- Jacobsen… Wilson

Heat 2 lineup:

Row 1- Bloomquist… Davenport

Row 2- Ferguson… Francis

Row 3- Blankenship… Dixon

Row 4- Hughes… Weeks

Row 5- Sanders

Heat 3 lineup:

Row 1- Overton… Papuch

Row 2- Franklin… Bailed

Row 3- Owens… McDowell

Row 4- Mitchell… Sanders

Row 5- Hiett

Heat 1 Results: 1. O’Neal, 2. Carrier, 3. Roberts, 4. Madden, 5. Erb, 6. Pursley.

Pearson was 4th on last lap but broke and fell to 7th. His crew is getting the backup car ready.

Heat 2 Results:

1. Bloomquist, 2. Davenport, 3. Francis, 4. Ferguson, 5. Dixon, 6. Hughes

Bloomquist won by more than a straightaway. Davenport passed Francis for 2nd on the last lap.

Heat 3 Results:

1. Overton, 2. Franklin, 3. Owens, 4. Mitchell, 5. Bailed, 6. McDowell

Overton dominated.

B-main- Contact between Papich and Blankenship on lap 1 sends Papich on a wild ride, riding along the top of the wall and almost out of the track. Driver is OK.

Pearson broke a rear end in his heat race. He is not in the B-main as his crew readies the backup car.

Pearson and Papich will most likely get provisionals for the feature.

B-main results: 1. Blankenship, 2. Weeks, 3. Landers, 4. Jacobsen.

Near photo finish between Jacobsen and Sanders for the final transfer spot.

Feature lineup:

Row 1: O’Neal… Bloomquist

Row 2: Overton… Carrier

Row 3: Davenport… Franklin

Row 4: Roberts… Francis

Row 5: Owens… Madden

Row 6: Ferguson… Mitchell

Row 7: Erb… Dixon

Row 8: Bailes … Pursley

Row 9: Hughes… McDowell

Row 10: Blankenship… Weeks

Row 11: Landers… Jacobsen

Row 12: Pearson… Papich

10:15- Feature about to roll out.

10:25- Pace laps underway.

10:28- Green flag!

Lap 12- Caution free so far. Overton leads Davenport, O’Neal, Roberts.

Bloomquist is out.

Lap 42- first caution for Bailes. Overton took lead early with aggressive move around O’Neal. On lap 36 O’Neal retook the lead with an outside move. Davenport, Roberts, Owens round out top-5.

Feature finish: 1. O’Neal, 2. Overton, 3. Davenport, 4. Roberts, 5. Owens, 6. Francis, 7. Ferguson, 8. Madden, 9. Franklin, 10. Carrier

O’Neal pulled away after the last restart.

A crew member reports that a rock punctured the radiator on Bloomquist’s car.

Comments are closed.