Last lap pass nets Brandon Overton a $25,000 payday at Golden Isles

Brandon Oveton’s second win of the weekend earned a $25,000 payday

The Super Clean Super Bowl of Racing had offered up two great shows leading into the finale at the Golden Isles Speedway for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Saturday’s event kept pace with its predecessors. Brandon Overton executed a last lap pass of Ricky Thornton Jr. to take home the top prize of the three-day stanza.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Evans, Georgia was awarded $25,000 for his efforts at the track located near Brunswick, Georgia.

A total of 52 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Brandon Overton (14.798), 2. Devin Moran, 3. Allen Murray, 4. Jeff Choquette, 5. Steven Roberts, 6. Shane Clanton, 7. Tanner English, 8. Earl Pearson Jr, 9. Dennis Erb Jr, 10. Tyler Bruening

Group B Results- 1. Hudson O’Neal (14.939), 2. Ricky Thornton Jr, 3. Daulton Wilson, 4. Jonathan Davenport, 5. Mason Zeigler, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Tim McCreadie, 8. John Henderson, 9. Garrett Smith, 10. Max Blair

Heat 1 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Tanner English, 3. Jeff Choquette

Heat 2 Results: 1. Devin Moran, 2. Earl Pearson Jr, 3. GR Smith

Heat 3 Results: 1. Shane Clanton, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Blair Nothdurft

Heat 4 Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Tim McCreadie, 3. Jonathan Davenport

Heat 5 Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr, 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. John Henderson

Heat 6 Results:  1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Garrett Smith, 3. Spencer Hughes

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Tyler Bruening, 2. Dennis Erb Jr

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Ferguson, 2. T Erb

Feature Re-cap: On the initial attempt to start the 60-lap race, contact between Clanton and Sheppard set off a chain reaction crash that would also involve Garrett Smith, G.R. Smith, Ferguson,  and Choquette. The second attemt to get the main event going did not go much better as a wreck that entangled, Bruening, G.R. Smith, Henderson and Hughes did not allow the completion of a full lap. 

When the race finally did get going, Overton bolted to the early lead with O’Neal, Thornton, Moran and Sheppard in his wake. And by the completion of the third lap, it looked as if Overton would break away from his pursuers. However, slower traffic would soon become a factor and with many during the early stages of the race clinging to the bottom groove, there was not much room for passing.

A lap 8 caution for the slowing car of the fourth-running Moran slowed the pace and provided the leaders with a reprieve from slower traffic. On the ensuing restart, Thornton moved to second while Clanton grabbed the fifth position.

The top-4 of Overton, Thornton, O’Neal and English continued to hold the bottom line. Further back, Sheppard got by Clanton to take fifth.

The front runner tightened up in slower traffic which provided Thornton with an opportunity to drive by Overton and claim the lead on lap 23. At the same time, English worked his way around O’Neal for third.

The top-5 cars continued to race in cloase quarters as they worked through slower traffic until a lap 34 caution flag for Wilson’s stalled car re-set the field.

Following the restart, it appeared to be Thorton’s race as he began to slip away from the pack. However, slower traffic again proved to be an equalizer as Overton and English drew closer to the race leader. Overton then began to harass Thornton as he began to move around on the track looking for a lane to pass.

Finally, the No. 76 found the groove it was looking for going through turnd three and four on the last lap. Overton took to the high side and just nipped Thornton in the drag race back to the finish line to earn his second win in three tries at Golden Isles.

Feature Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Tanner English, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Hudson O’Neal, 6. Tim McCreadie, 7. Jonathan Davenport, 8. Mason Zeigler, 9. Shane Clanton, 10. Kyle Bronson, 11. Earl Pearson Jr., 12. Brian Shirley, 13. Spencer Hughes, 14. Jimmy Owens, 15. Dennis Erb Jr., 16. Garrett Alberson, 17. Wil Herrington, 18. Garrett Smith, 19. Blair Nothdurft, 20. Logan Roberson, 21. Daulton Wilson, 22. Jeff Choqutte, 23. Ross Robinson, 24. Devin Moran, 25. G.R. Smith, 26. John Henderson, 27. Tyler Bruening, 28. Carson Ferguson, 29. Tyler Erb

Please consider also reading:

Kyle Larson scores thrilling Lucas Oil victory at Golden Isles

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.