Kyle Strickler grabs Lucas Oil checkered flag at I-80

Kyle Strickler earned the win at I-80

Story provided by Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

GREENWOOD, NE (September 17, 2020) – Kyle Strickler outran Shane Clanton to the checkered flag to win his first career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event on Thursday Night at I-80 Speedway. Strickler passed Clanton on lap 11 and then edged Clanton by just .045 seconds at the finish line.

Josh Richards came from the 10th starting spot to finish third with Chris Madden and Jimmy Owens rounding out the top five drivers.

Clanton grabbed the lead at the start of the 30-lap event while Strickler dropped back several car lengths behind him. Stickler managed to find a groove that worked well for him and he slowly started to close the gap on the Georgia veteran. Strickler was finally able to track down Clanton and pass him on lap 11.  Clanton began to lose contact with Strickler, but in the last two laps was able to make up several car lengths. Coming out of the final corner Clanton dropped to the inside of Strickler but came up one car length short of victory as the checkers flew.

The 37-year-old North Carolina driver became the 19th different winner this year on the tour. “On that last lap I thought please no flat right rear tire. My hat is off to Shane, he could have really sent her in there and cut in front of me, but he raced me clean and I appreciate that. I knew if I got into one and come off of four clean we would be really good. Man, everybody on this team deserves it so much. All my guys back home, my wife and my kids are watching on tv, my mom and my dad and friends are watching. Thanks to everybody who has helped me get here.”

Clanton came up just short of his first series win of the year. “If I would have went to the bottom a few laps before the end, maybe I could have cleared him off of four on the last lap. Overall, it was good night, and we led some laps. I thought we did pretty well to maintain a fast pace. Strickler just snuck by me on the bottom and then I don’t know if I just started to let up or become more timid. I was just trying to save my stuff for 30 laps.”

Richards survived a torrid battle for third place. “We had a phenomenal car. I can’t thank these guys enough for not giving up. We’ve had a lot of speed the last couple of weeks. We didn’t qualify the greatest, we were a little snug, the track was little greasy. It was a little narrow earlier and then it widened out and you can race all over it.”

The winner’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Bilstein Shocks, G Style Transport LLC, Donaldson Grading, Wehrs Machine, Tim Cat Performance, and Andy’s Towing.

Completing the top ten were Devin Moran, Ryan Gustin, Tim McCreadie, Brandon Overton, and Billy Moyer.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series

Race Summary

Optima Batteries I-80 Nationals – Presented by General Tire

Thursday, September 17th, 2020

I-80 Speedway – Greenwood, NE


Lucas Oil Time Trials

Fast Time Group A: Devin Moran / 16.603 seconds

Fast Time Group B: Kyle Strickler / 16.484 seconds (overall)

Penske Race Shocks Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 18 from Heat Points Transfer): 1. 29V-Darrell Lanigan[2]; 2. 04-Tad Pospisil[1]; 3. 44M-Chris Madden[4]; 4. 21-Billy Moyer Jr[7]; 5. 9-Devin Moran[6]; 6. 21M-Billy Moyer Sr[5]; 7. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[8]; 8. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[3]; 9. 43-Jeremy Grady[9]; 10. 26JR-Corey Zeitner[11]; 11. 29D-Spencer Diercks[10]; 12. 112-Tyler Smith[12]

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 18 from Heat Points Transfer): 1. 39-Tim McCreadie[1]; 2. 19R-Ryan Gustin[3]; 3. 99JR-Frank Heckenast Jr[2]; 4. 56-Chris Spieker[4]; 5. 20-Jimmy Owens[6]; 6. 1T-Tyler Erb[7]; 7. 98J-Jason Rauen[5]; 8. 81E-Tanner English[8]; 9. 14J-Jake Neal[10]; 10. 22H-Daniel Hilsabeck[9]; 11. L88-Larry Clawson[11]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #3 Finish (Top 18 from Heat Points Transfer): 1. 14-Josh Richards[2]; 2. 25-Shane Clanton[4]; 3. 49-Jonathan Davenport[1]; 4. 8-Kyle Strickler[6]; 5. 32S-Chris Simpson[5]; 6. 1S-Brandon Sheppard[3]; 7. 777-Jared Landers[7]; 8. 62-Justin Zeitner[8]; 9. 98-Ben Schaller[10]; 10. 76B-Blair Nothdurft[12]; 11. 10C-Junior Coover[11]; 12. 6D-Dylan Schmer[9]

Ohlins Shocks Heat Race #4 Finish (Top 18 from Heat Points Transfer): 1. 76-Brandon Overton[2]; 2. 18J-Chase Junghans[4]; 3. 71-Hudson O’Neal[3]; 4. 40B-Kyle Bronson[5]; 5. 32-Bobby Pierce[7]; 6. 2S-Stormy Scott[6]; 7. 16-Tyler Bruening[1]; 8. 1C-Chad Simpson[11]; 9. 53-Andrew Kosiski[8]; 10. 3C-Mike Collins[9]; 11. 14M-Reid Millard[10]

Tiger Rear Ends B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 49-Jonathan Davenport[2]; 2. 1S-Brandon Sheppard[3]; 3. 1C-Chad Simpson[8]; 4. 20RT-Ricky Thornton Jr[6]; 5. 16-Tyler Bruening[5]; 6. 81E-Tanner English[7]; 7. 22H-Daniel Hilsabeck[10]; 8. 26JR-Corey Zeitner[11]; 9. 14M-Reid Millard[12]; 10. 14J-Jake Neal[9]; 11. 76B-Blair Nothdurft[13]; 12. 04-Tad Pospisil[1]; 13. 1-Earl Pearson Jr[4]; 14. 10C-Junior Coover[14]

FAST Shafts B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): 1. 21-Billy Moyer Jr[2]; 2. 1T-Tyler Erb[4]; 3. 777-Jared Landers[5]; 4. 62-Justin Zeitner[6]; 5. 32-Bobby Pierce[3]; 6. 98J-Jason Rauen[1]; 7. 53-Andrew Kosiski[7]; 8. 98-Ben Schaller[9]; 9. L88-Larry Clawson[13]; 10. 29D-Spencer Diercks[11]; 11. 3C-Mike Collins[10]; 12. 43-Jeremy Grady[8]; 13. 6D-Dylan Schmer[12]; 14. 112-Tyler Smith[14]

Lucas Oil Feature Finish (30 Laps):

Pos Start Car # Competitor Hometown Pay
1 1 8 Kyle Strickler Mooresville, NC $7,000
2 2 25 Shane Clanton Zebulon, GA $4,000
3 10 14 Josh Richards Shinnston, WV $3,000
4 7 44M Chris Madden Gray Court, SC $2,000
5 5 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN $1,500
6 4 9 Devin Moran Dresden, OH $1,000
7 8 19R Ryan Gustin Marshalltown, IA $900
8 15 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY $800
9 11 76 Brandon Overton Evans, GA $700
10 17 21M Billy Moyer Sr Batesville, AR $600
11 13 32S Chris Simpson Oxford, IA $580
12 21 1S Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL $560
13 6 40B Kyle Bronson Brandon, FL $540
14 19 49 Jonathan Davenport Blairsville, GA $520
15 9 29V Darrell Lanigan Union, KY $500
16 18 99JR Frank Heckenast Jr Frankfort, IL $490
17 3 18J Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS $480
18 16 71 Hudson O’Neal Martinsville, IN $470
19 12 2S Stormy Scott Las Cruces, NM $460
20 22 1T Tyler Erb New Waverly, TX $450
21 23 1C Chad Simpson Mt. Vernon, IA $440
22 20 21 Billy Moyer Jr Batesville, AR $430
23 14 56 Chris Spieker Massena, IA $410
24 24 777 Jared Landers Winston-Salem, NC $400



Comments are closed.