Kyle Larson scores thrilling Lucas Oil victory at Golden Isles

A late pass gave Kyle Larson the win at Golden Isles

Kyle Larson doesn’t get to race Dirt Late Models very often, but when he does, he makes it count. On Friday night at the Golden Isles Speedway the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion emerged from a spirited three-car battle passing for the lead with just two laps remaining to earn a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory in the second of a three-race weekend for the national touring series.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Elk Grove, California earned $12,000 for his efforts on the track located near Brunswick, Georgia.

A total of 51 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Brandon Overton (14.932), 2. Hudson O’Neal, 3. Devin Moran, 4. Jonathan Davenport, 5. Mason Zeigler, 6. Earl Pearson Jr., 7. Wil Herrington, 8. Steven Roberts, 9. Tim McCreadie, 10. Kyle Strickler

Group B Results- 1. Ricky Thornton Jr (14.859), 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Daulton Wilson, 4. Logan Roberson, 5. Tyler Bruening, 6. John Henderson, 7. Spencer Hughes, 8. Dennis Erb Jr, 9. Carson Ferguson, 10. Tyler Erb

Heat 1 Results: 1. Brandon Overton, 2. GR Smith, 3. Kyle Strickler

Heat 2 Results: 1. Hudson O’Neal, 2. Mason Zeigler, 3. Steven Roberts

Heat 3 Results: 1. Earl Pearson Jr, 2. Devin Moran, 3. Tim McCreadie

Heat 4 Results: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr, 2. Tyler Erb, 3. Spencer Hughes

Heat 5 Results: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Dennis Erb Jr, 3. Tyler Bruening

Heat 6 Results: 1. Daulton Wilson, 2. Carson Ferguson, 3. Brian Shirley 

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Ross Robinson

B-main 2 Finish: . 1. Tanner English, 2. Brandon Sheppard

Feature Re-cap: When the 50-lap feature took the green flag it was Overton who jetted to the early lead with Thornton, O’Neal, Larson and Pearson in arrears. O’Neal quickly went on the offensive by passing Thornton for second on the second circuit. But by lap 5, the top-5 of Overton, O’Neal, Thornton, Larson and Pearson had spaced out and were in the process of separating themselves from the rest of the pack.¬†

However, a lap 10 caution for the slowing car of G.R. Smith regrouped the field. On the ensuing restart, Larson jumped to third behind Overton and Thornton. Two laps later, the No. 6 machine took to the high side of the track and drove around Thornton to grab the runner-up position.

Another yellow flag waved on lap 14 to again slow the action.

Just after the lap 14 restart, the intense racing among the top-3 began as Overton, Larson and Thornton began to put on a show. Just behind, the fight for fourth was just as fierce with O’Neal, Wilson and Dennis Erb Jr. going three-wide at times.

Overton looked as if he might slip away as Larson and Thornton contested second. However, Larson began to find traction in the top groove which allowed him to close right back in on the race leader. Slower traffic became a factor as the race moved toward the halfway mark with battled within the top-6 still raging.

Larson looked as if he might be ready to assume control of the event when he closed on Overton and moved to the inside. However, that move then allowed Thornton to make a move omn Larson that would result in him taking second.

On lap 29, Thornton passed Overton for the lead but slower traffic would keep the combatants racing in close quarters. Larson again moved to the top side with only ten laps remaining in the feature. However, the No. 6 car jumped the cushion on lap 41 and fell back to third.

Overton moved to the outside of Thornton in an attempt to retake the lead which then drew Larson back into the fray. Over the closing laps, the top-3 cars continually traded positions until Overton jumped the cushion on lap 47, allowing Larson to grab second.

Using the high side of the track, Larson made a big move with two laps to go which resulted in him taking the top spot away from Thornton. Over the final two circuits, Larson would not be denied as he sailed under the checkered flag to claim the win.

Feature Results: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Brandon Overton, 4. Earl Pearson Jr., 5. Hudson O’Neal, 6. Dennis Erb Jr., 7. Daulton Wilson, 8. Devin Moran, 9. Kyle Strickler, 10. Jonathan Davenport, 11. Tim McCreadie, 12. Carson Ferguson, 13. Mason Zeigler, 14. Tanner English, 15. Tyler Bruening, 16. Tyler Erb, 17. Spencer Hughes, 18. Brandon Sheppard, 19. Ross Robinson, 20. Garrett Alberson, 21. Garrett Smith, 22. Steven Roberts, 23. Jordan Koenhler, 24. Logan Roberson, 25. Brian Shirley

Please consider also reading:

Brandon Overton claims Lucas Oil season opener at Golden Isles

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.