Kyle Larson scores High Limit victory at Wayne County

Kyle Larson scored his first High Limit win

In his third attempt, High Limit Sprint Car Series co-owner Kyle Larson scored his first series win in the Sheldon Haudenschild’s Buckeye Brawl on Tuesday night at Wayne Country Speedway. The 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion took the lead early on then survived several restarts to take the checkered flag.

The Paul Silva Racing driver from Elk Grove, California earned $32,023 for his efforts on the track located in Orrville, Ohio in a race shown live by

A total of 54 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Kyle Larson(14.059), 2. James McFadden, 3. Chase Randall, 4. Rico Abreu, 5. Brady Bacon, 6. Cory Eliason, 7. Brent Marks, 8. Ryan Timms

Group B Results- 1. Justin Sanders(14.396), 2. Blake Hahn, 3. Aaron Reutzel, 4. Tyler Courtney, 5. Sheldon Haudenschild, 6. Scotty Thiel, 7. Hunter Schuerenberg, 8. Justin Peck

Heat 1 Results: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Chase Randall, 3. Brady Bacon, 4. Chris Windom, 5. Cole Macedo

Heat 2 Results: 1. James Mcfadden, 2. Ryan Timms, 3. Rico Abreu, 4. Cory Eliason, 5. Parker Price-Miller

Heat 3 Results: 1. Justin Sanders, 2. Aaron Reutzel, 3. Sheldon Haudenschild, 4. Hunter Schuerenberg, 5. Anthony Macri

Heat 4 Results: 1. Tyler Courtney, 2. Blake Hahn, 3. Justin Peck, 4. Buddy Kofoid, 5. Danny Dietrich

B-main Finish: 1. Scotty Thiel, 2. Tyler Gunn, 3. Sye Lynch, 4. Brandon Spithaler

C-main Finish: 1. Ricky Peterson, 2. Henry Malcuit, 3. Jake Swanson, 4. J.J. Hickle

Dash Finish: 1. Chase Randall, 2. Justin Sanders, 3. Kyle Larson, 4. James McFadden, 5. Tyler Courtney, 6. Aaron Reutzel, 7. Blake Hahn, 8. Ryan Timms

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 35-lap feature it was Randall who went to the lead ahead of Sanders, Larson, Courtney and McFadden. Larson took second from Sanders on the second circuit while McFadden and Timms swapped the fifth spot twice on lap 3 and 4. 

Larson closed in on Randall by lap 8 then made the move to grab the lead on lap 9. Larson ran into slower traffic on lap 10 as Courtney moved into third just before the front runners would be given a reprieve from the slower cars when a caution flag waved for the slowing car of Dietrich on lap 12.

On the restart, Courtney moved to second ahead of a fight between Windom and Sanders. Haudenschild joined a fierce battle for positions 3-5 with Windom and Courtney. McFadden then entered the fray to make it a four car battle.

At the front of the field, Larson had built a lead of just over two seconds over Sanders. However, the leader would get caught up in slower traffic providing and opportunity for Sanders and third running Haudenschild to close.

A red flag on lap 24 when Schuerenberg and Eliason crashed. Both drivers walked away under their own power.

Abreu joined entered the top-5 on the restart while Windom took third from Haudenschild. Abreu took advantage and also passed Haudenschild to grab fourth.

Another red flag came out when Courtney flipped in turn two on lap 27. He was able to walk away from the incident.

Abreu moved to third on the restart ahead of Windom and a fast rising Brian Brown. In the meantime, Larson pulled away from Sanders by more than two seconds but a lap 33 red flag would negate that advantage when Randall flipped on the backstretch.

Larson pulled away over the final two laps to score the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Justin Sanders, 3. Justin Peck, 4. Brian Brown, 5. Rico Abreu, 6. Chris Windom, 7. Aaron Reutzel, 8. Brent Marks, 9. Sheldon Haudenschild, 10. James McFadden, 11. Danny Dietrich, 12. Brandon Spithaler, 13. Brady Bacon, 14. Cole Macedo, 15. Anthony Macri, 16. Buddy Kofoid, 17. Parker Price-Miller, 18. Sye Lynch, 19. Ryan Timms, 20. Chase Randall, 21. Tyler Gunn, 22. Tyler Courtney, 23. Cory Eliason, 24. Hunter Schuerenberg, 25. Scotty Thiel, 26. Blake Hahn

Please consider also reading:

Appears as if Larson made sure Chastain’s Darlington mistake would cost him

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out

Comments are closed.