Kyle Courtney, Chris Rickett and Eric Register score Hangover wins

The 5th Annual Hangover at the 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, Tenn. featured Super Late Model cars for the first time in its history on New Year’s Day of 2015. But at the same time, there was also some intense action in three other classes at the Mitch and Tanya McCarter owned facility.

Kyle Courtney

Kyle Courtney

Easily, the best race of the day was the feature staged by the Mini Stock competitors.

After winning their respective heat races in the Mini Stock class, John Byers and Kyle Courtney started on the front row in the feature. And for the next 20 laps, the two drivers were never more than a car length apart as they battled through every turn.

On lap 8, Byers and Courtney exchanged the lead three times as they darted in and out of slower traffic, with the 3rd place car of Jason Gregory and the 4th place machine of Rocky McNabb lurking all the time.

Courtney was able to take the lead for good when he pinned Byers behind a slower car. However, he had to withstand another challenge after a lap 17 restart.

At the finish, it was Kyle Courtney, John Byers, Jason Gregory, Rocky McNabb and Randy Powell making up the top-5.

Chris Rickett

Chris Rickett

Chris Rickett earned the pole for the Street Stock feature by posting on overall fastest qualifying lap of 15.867 seconds among the 20 cars to sign in for competition. He was followed by Shannon Emery, Brad Davis and Michael Boyd.

The feature got off to an auspicious start when multiple cars piled up in turn one just after the waving of the initial green flag. The race never seemed to be able to recover from that misstep as numerous caution flags would wave with Rickett leading every lap.

The race was ultimately cut short due to time restrictions.

At the finish it was Chris Rickett, Michael Boyd, David Price, Jeff McLemore and Brad Davis.

Eric Register

Eric Register

Clyde Overholt proved fastest in time-trials among the 33 cars on hand for action in the Sportsman class. Justin Beeler, David Kerr and Eric Register followed. Brian Courtney and Gary Blanken won the two heat races used to set the field for those not locked in via qualifying.

Similar to the Street Stock feature, the Sportsman cars suffered misfortune at the outset when several cars tangled in the initial set of turns.

Once the race got going, Register made his move quickly. After starting 4th, the driver of the No. 12 car took the lead on lap 3 and would lead the rest of the way. However, Rex Coffey, who started outside the top-10 picked off car after car to get himself in position to challenge for the lead by the end of the 20-lap race.

Coffey was actually able to pass register for the lead late in the race, but a caution flag waved prior to the completion of the lap which negated the move. Eventually, Eric Register was able to hold on for the win ahead of Rex Coffey, Clyde Overholt, Tom Collini and Zack Dunsmore.

Comments are closed.