Joseph Joiner finds the front in Spring Nats feature at Buckshot

Joseph Joiner earned his first Spring Nats win at Buckshot

Joseph Joiner and his crew produce a well known YouTube show called ‘Hunt the Front’. On Friday night at the Busckshot Speedway the No. 10 car found the front at the start of the race and would hold that position throughout the remainder of the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals feature event. It was the first win with this series for Joiner in that tour’s first ever visit to this track.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Milton, FL earned $7,553 from the track located in Clanton, AL in a race aired live by

This was the first of a two-night weekend for the Spring Nationals as the series will move to the East Alabama Motor Speedway on Saturday evening,

A total of 32 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Haiden Cowan(13.826), 2. Tyler Clem, 3. Ross Bailes, 4. Kenny Collins, 5. Dillon Tidmore

Group B Results- 1. Joseph Joiner(13.857), 2. Kyle Beard, 3. Ashton Winger, 4. Dalton Cook, 5. Carson Ferguson

The top-5 from each qualifying group were locked into the feature.

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. David McCoy, 3. Billy Franklin, 4. Matthew Brocato, 5. Shay Miller

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Stephen Brantley, 2. David Breazeale, 3. Heath Hindman, 4. Will Roland, 5. Sam Seawright 

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 40-lap feature it was Joiner who bolted to the lead with Cowan, Clem, Beard and Bailes trailing. Both Bailes and Winger got by Beard to move into fourth and fifth respectively as the field completed the second circuit. 

A spin by Marlar brought out a yellow flag at the end of lap 2 taking away a relatively sizable advantage Joiner and Cowan had built up. Just one lap after again taking the green flag, Beard spun in turn one collecting multiple cars in the process.

When the race went back to green following the lap 3 caution, Joiner set about the task of driving away from a furious battle for the remaining spots in the top-5 as Clam, Cowan, Bailes and Winger fought for position.

Winger began to move forward just before the halfway mark as he passed Bailes for fourth then Cowan for third as they top-5 worked slower traffic. By lap 21, Winger had worked his way into second. Meanwhile, Joiner was having to fight with slower traffic as Winger sought to catch up from a three-second deficit.

Franklin spun on lap 25 to bring out a caution with Joiner leading Winger, Clem, Cowan and Bailes. Under the caution, the third-running car of Clem pulled off the track with mechanical issues.

When the race restarted, Joiner continued to show the way as Cowan, Tidmore and Bailes got by Winger for second, third and fourth. One lap later, Winger slowed with a flat tire to bring out another yellow flag.

Tidmore and Bailes moved into second and third behind Joiner after the lap 36 restart. With 10 laps remaining, Collins worked by Cook to enter the top-5 while Joiner again pulled away from the pack.

A yellow flag again waved on lap 32 when Roland spun once more wiping away a big lead by Joiner.

Feature Results: 1. Joseph Joiner, 2. Dillon Tidmore, 3. Ross Bailes, 4. Haiden Cowan, 5. Kenny Collins, 6. Dalton Cook, 7. Mike Marlar, 8. Carson Ferguson, 9. Billy Franklin, 10. Austin Horton, 11. Matthew Brocato, 12. David McCoy, 13. Caden Mullinax, 14. Will Roland, 15. Ashton Winger, 16. Tyler Clem, 17. Kyle Beard, 18. Shay Miller, 19. Sam Seawright, 20. David Breazeale, 21. Heath Hindman, 22. Stephen Brantley

Please consider also reading:

Brad Sweet dominates Friday night WoO Sprint feature at Devil’s Bowl

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.