Jonathan Davenport stays hot with WoO victory at Bristol

Jonathan Davenport earned another $25,000 on Friday at Bristol

Jonathan Davenport continued his hot run of late in the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Late Model Series-sanctioned Bristol Bash on Friday night at Bristol Motor Speedway. This comes on the heels of recent lucrative wins at All-Tech Raceway and Brownstown Speedway.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Blairsville, Georgia earned $25,000 for his efforts on the half-mile track located in Bristol, Tennessee

A total of 22 cars were signed in for competition.

Qualifying Results: 1. Ricky Weiss(15.374), 2. Chris Madden, 3. Jonathan Davenport, 4. Kyle Hammer, 5. Kyle Larson, 6. Kyle Bronson, 7. Kyle Strickler, 8. Brent Larson, 9. Ryan Gustin, 10. Boom Briggs, 11. Scott Bloomquist, 12. Max Blair, 13. Tanner English, 14. Jimmy Owens, 15. Tim Lance, 16. Ross Bailes, 17. Dennis Erb Jr., 18. Tyler Bruening, 19. Gordy Gundaker, 20. Josh Richards, 21. Tim Vance, 22. Don Hammer

Heat 1 Results: 1. Weiss, 2. K Hammer, 3. Strickler, 4. English, 5. Briggs, 6. Bailes, 7. Gundaker, 8. D Hammer

Heat 2 Results: 1. Madden, 2. K Larson, 3. Bloomquist, 4. Erb, 5. B Larson, 6. Owens, 7. Richards

Heat 3 Results: 1. Davenport, 2. Bronson, 3. Gustin, 4. Blair, 5. Bruening, 6. Lance, 8. Vance

Redraw Results: 1. K Hammer, 2. K Larson, 3. Davenport, 4. Weiss, 5. Madden, 6. Bronson

Feature Re-cap: Kyle Larson had to start for the rear due to not having his car presented for the starting grid in time.

At the start of the 30-lap feature it was Hammer leading Davenport, Bronson, Weiss and Madden. A lap 2 caution flag for a flat tire on the Bailes car slowed the action. On the restart, Weiss jumped around Davenport to claim second and quickly looked inside Hammer for the race lead.

Weiss’s efforts finally paid off on lap 7 as he moved around Hammer to assume the lead. At the same time, a hard charging Kyle Larson had already moved up to the seventh position from the tail.

Davenport moved to second by passing Hammer on lap 9. Weiss built a lead of two seconds but found himself running among slower traffic on lap 11. A lap 12 yellow flag for the slowing car of Brent Larson bunched the leaders and offered a reprieve from slower traffic.

Hammer, Bloomquist, Madden and Larson engaged in a fight for the third through sixth spots. Madden got by Bloomquist on lap 13. Larson took sixth away from Bloomquist on the 17th circuit and then rose to fifth by passing Hammer one lap later.

Larson was employing a high line that few others were using which got him around Madden fourth.

Davenport wrested the lead away from Weiss with four laps remaining but the fast closing Larson was gaining on the lead duo in a hurry. Larson took second away from Weiss immediately following Davenport.

Davenport stayed low while Larson was on the high side making up ground. On the final lap, Larson made a last ditch effort on the top side but jumped the cushion and lost momentum. Ultimately, Davenport would sail under the checkered flag to claim the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Kyle Bronson, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Chris Madden, 6. Jimmy Owens, 7. Kyle Hammer, 8. Kyle Larson, 9. Ryan Gustin, 10. Tyler Bruening, 11. Ross Bailes, 12. Tanner English, 13. Dennis Erb Jr., 14. Josh Richards, 15. Boom Briggs, 16. Gordy Gundaker, 17. Max Blair, 18. Tim Lance, 19. Tim Vance, 20. Brent Larson, 21. Kyle Strickler, 22. don Hammer

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.