Jonathan Davenport scores another payday with Hawkeye 50 triumph at Boone



Jonathan Davenport added $20,000 to his earnings at Boone

han Davenport just keeps winning lucrative races and on Monday night he added another by taking the World of Outlaws Case Construction Late Model Series-sanctioned Hawkeye 50 at Boone Speedway.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Blairsville, Georgia earned $20,000 for the victory on the track located in Boone, Iowa in a race shown live by

A total of 33 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Tyler Bruening(14.801), 2. Devin Moran, 3. Jimmy Owens, 4. Gordy Gundaker, 5. Shane Clanton, 6. Ryan Gustin, 7. Ricky Thornton Jr., 8. Kyle Bronson

Group B Results- 1. Jonathan Davenport(15.062), 2. Mike Marlar, 3. Brian Shirley, 4. Trevor Gundaker, 5. Boom Briggs, 6. Tanner English, 7. Bobby Pierce, 8. Dennis Erb Jr.

Heat 1 Results: 1. Tyler Bruening, 2. Jimmy Owens, 3. Ricky Thornton Jr., 4. Shane Clanton

Heat 2 Results: 1. Devin Moran, 2. Ryan Gustin, 3. Gordy Gundaker, 4. Kyle Bronson

Heat 3 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Bobby Pierce, 4. Daniel Hilsabeck

Heat 4 Results: 1. Mike Marlar, 2. Dennis Erb Jr., 3. Max Blair, 4. Trevor Gundaker

Last Chance Showdown 1 Finish: 1. Josh Richards, 2. Kyle Strickler, 3. Jason Feger

Last Chance Showdown 2 Finish: 1. Tanner English, 2. Brent Larson, 3. Boom Briggs

WoO Late Models Redraw Results: 1. Bruening, 2. Marlar, 3. Moran, 4. Davenport, 5. Gustin, 6. Owens, 7. Shirley, 8. Erb

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 50-lap feature Bruening took the early lead with Davenport, Marlar, Moran and Owens in tow. Davenport charged to the lead on the second circuit when he passed by Bruening. However, a caution on lap 3 for the spinning car of Shirley slowed the pace. 

On lap 5, a furious battle for fourth took place between Moran, Owens and Gustin. Further ahead, Marlar moved by Bruening for second on lap 8. At the same time, Davenport worked to slip away from the field. Erb jumped into the top-6 on lap 15 when he took the spot away from Owens and then stepped into a fight with Moran for fifth.

On lap 23. Bruening regained second by passing Marlar with Gustin looking to enter that fray. However, Marlar took the runner-up spot back from Bruening as those two cars were joined by Gustin, Erb and Moran.

Davenport’s lead grew to two seconds by lap 30 with the furious battle between Marlar, Bruening, Erb, Gustin and Moran raging, Erb emerged as the leader of that fight on lap 36 as he moved into second.

With Davenport stuck in heavy traffic, Erb began to close as he looked to challenge for the race lead. A lap 40 caution for Briggs gave the leaders a break from slower traffic and reset the field for a restart.

Over the closing laps, Davenport kept his challengers in arrears as he sailed under the checkered flag to claim the victory.

Feature Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Dennis Erb Jr. 3. Mike Marlar, 4. Tyler Bruening, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Devin Moran, 7. Ryan Gustin, 8. Shane Clanton, 9. Max Blair, 10. Jimmy Owens, 11. Brent Larson, 12. Josh Richards, 13. Gordy Gundaker, 14. Brian Shirley, 15. Ricky Thornton Jr., 16. Trevor Gundaker, 17. Daniel Hilsabeck, 18. Kyle Bronson, 19. Tanner English, 20. Jason Feger, 21. Boom Briggs, 22. Frank Heckenast Jr., 23. Kyle Strickler

Please consider also reading:

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.