Jonathan Davenport remains unbeaten with Wednesday night WWS victory

Jonathan Davenport has won all three WWS features so far

The hits just keep on coming. For the third night in a row in the Wild West Shootout it was Jonathan Davenport who came home the winner at Vado Speedway Park. While remaining unbeaten, the driver of the No. 49 machine keeps his hopes of claiming a $300,000 bonus for any driver who can win all six of the scheduled feature races in the 17th annual running of this event alive.

The Longhorn Chassis driver from Blairsville, Georgia earned $10,000 for his efforts at the Vado, New Mexico facility in a race shown live by

A total of 46 cars were signed in for competition

Qualifying Results:

Group A Results- 1. Bobby Pierce(14.850), 2. Morgan Bagley, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Kyle Beard, 5. Terry Phillips 

Group B Results- 1. Jonathan Davenport(15.194), 2. Brandon Sheppard, 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Cade Dillard, 5. Mike Marlar

Heat 1 Results: 1. Bobby Pierce, 2. Kyle Larson, 3. Tad Pospisil, 4. Terry Phillips

Heat 2 Results: 1. Morgan Bagley, 2. Kyle Beard, 3. Johnny Scott, 4. Billy Moyer Sr. 

Heat 3 Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Ricky Weiss, 3. Mike Marlar, 4. Dillon McCowan

Heat 4 Results: 1. Brandon Sheppard, 2. Garrett Alberson, 3. Cade Dillard, 4. Jake Timm

B-main 1 Finish: 1. Rodney Sanders, 2. Cole Wells, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Kollin Hibdon

B-main 2 Finish: 1. Dustin Sorensen, 2. Bill Leighton, 3. Don Shaw, 4. Stormy Scott

Feature Re-cap: At the start of the 30-lap feature Davenport went to the early lead with Sheppard, Pierce, Bagley and Weiss trailing. Weiss wrested fourth away from Bagley and the second lap as the top-4 began to separate from the pack. The leaders then began to encounter slower traffic just 8 laps into the event. 

Marlar passed Bagley for fifth on lap 12. At the same time, Davenport began to build an advantage over his pursuers as he sliced through traffic. Pierce closed in to challenge Sheppard for second and would take that position after the two exchanged sliders on lap 14.

As the laps clicked away, Pierce began to close on Davenport looking to make a bid for the race lead. While Pierce was able to get within striking distance, he was never able to move around.

Davenport eventually would take the checkered flag to claim his third win in three attempts.

Feature Results: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Ricky Weiss, 5. Mike Marlar, 6. Kyle Larson, 7. Garrett Alberson, 8. Cade Dillard, 9. Morgan Bagley, 10. Jake Timm, 11. Tad Pospisil, 12. Dillon McCowan, 13. Billy Moyer Sr., 14. Kyle Beard, 15. Terry Phillips, 16. Don Shaw, 17. Stormy Scott, 18. Bill Leighton, 19. Cole Wells, 20. Dustin Sorensen, 21. Johnny Scott, 22. Kollin Hibdon, 23. Rodney Sanders, 24. Tyler Erb

Please consider also reading:

Questions being answered by Davenport, Sheppard, and Pierce

Respond to this post on Twitter by following @RichardAllenIDR and @MichaelRMoats or by liking the Facebook page.

Also, NASCAR and pavement racing fans can check out InsideCircleTrack.

Comments are closed.