Jonathan Davenport completes World Finals sweep in Charlotte

Jonathan Davenport conquered The Dirt Track at Charlotte

The 2021 World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series season came to a close on Saturday on the second night of the World Finals at ‘The Dirt Track at Charlotte’. After having already won the Friday night feature, it was Jonathan Davenport who came away as the feature winner. The Longhorn Chassis driver from Blairsville, Georgia scored a $12,000 payday as his reward.

Brandon Sheppard was crowned as the 2021 World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion. It was the fourth series championship of his career tying him with Josh Richards for the most all time tittles.

A total of 46 cars were signed in for competition on Saturday.

Jonathan Davenport was quickest in Group A qualifying after he toured the 4/10 mile clay oval in 15.627 seconds topping Kyle Strickler, Brandon Sheppard, Josh Richards, Nick Hoffman, Tim McCreadie, Scott Bloomquist and Jimmy Owens.

Garrett Smith posted turned the fastest lap in Group B time-trials with an effort of 15.811 seconds to beat out Chris Ferguson, Ricky Weiss, Chris Madden, John Blankenship, Tyler Erb, Bryan Bernheisel and Jason Covert.

Brandon Sheppard won the first heat race of the night besting Jonathan Davenport, Scott Bloomquist and Nick Hoffman then Kyle Stirckler was the winner of the second preliminary ahead of Josh Richards, Tim McCreadie and Jimmy Owens.

Garrett Smith defeated Ricky Weiss, John Blankenship and Bryan Bernhesial in the third heat just before Chris Madden was victorious in the fourth and final heat by outperforming Tyler Erb, Chris Ferguson and Dennis Erb Jr.

Brandon Overton and Tyler Bruening won the two Last Chance Showdown races.

The WoO Late Models redraw set the first four rows of the main event starting grid as Sheppard, Smith, Madden, Strickler, T Erb, Davenport, Weiss and Richards.

At the start of the 40-lap feature it was Sheppard who took the early lead ahead of Smith, Davenport, Madden and Tyler Erb. On the second circuit, Erb made a move to take fourth away from Madden then McCreadie blasted through the open door and grabbed fifth from Madden.

At the front of the field, Smith harassed Sheppard until the young driver wrested the lead away from the WoO Late Model champion on lap 10. However, Smith’s time at the front would be short-lived as Davenport passed both Sheppard and the new front runner on lap 11.

On lap 14, Davenport entered slower traffic which allowed Smith to close back in. On lap 16, Davenport tagged the tail of Jason Covert’s car which sent the No. 72 spinning to bring out a caution. As that incident occurred, Smith regained the lead as Davenport fell back to second.

Smith continued to lead after green flag action resumed but another yellow flag would wave on lap 19 when Ferguson, who had just entered the top-5, slammed into the turn one wall.

As the field was shown the halfway sign, Davenport moved under Smith to reclaim the race lead while McCreadie, Erb and Madden fought for positions 4-6 further back.

Once in the lead, Davenport appeared to be on cruise control as he pulled away from the field. In the mean time, WoO Late Models champion and Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion McCreadie fought for third. But a lap 38 caution for the slowing car of Covert.

But over the closing laps, Davenport went unmatched as he sailed to the victory.

Feature Finish: 1. Jonathan Davenport, 2. Garrett Smith, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Tim McCreadie, 5. Chris Madden, 6. Tyler Erb, 7. Dennis Erb Jr., 8. Brandon Overton, 9. Ricky Weiss, 10. John Blankenship, 11. Austin Kirkpatrick, 12. Boom Briggs, 13. Scott Bloomquist, 14. Jimmy Owens, 15. Ashton Winger, 16. Ross Robinson, 17. Ryan Gustin, 18. Josh Richards, 19. Tyler Bruening, 20. Jason Covert, 21. Bryan Bernheisal, 22. Kyle Strickler, 23. Max Blair, 24. Chris Ferguson, 25. Nick Hoffman

Comments are closed.