John Ownbey catches Cabin Fever at Boyd’s Speedway

John Ownbey led all the way to collect the Iron-Man win at Boyd’s

The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Late Model Series sanctioned the Cabin Fever Shakedown race held on Sunday afternoon at Boyd’s Speedway. At the end of the day it was John Ownbey who left the Ringgold, GA facility with his second career win in that event and a winner’s purse of $5,000.

Jason Hiett proved to be the fastest in qualifying on Saturday evening as he turned a lap 13.357 seconds around the third-mile clay oval to beat out Riley Hickman, Jadon Frame, John Ownbey, Jason Deal and Will Roland.

Jason Hiett earned the pole for the feature by taking the win in the first heat race on Saturday ahead of David Brannon, Dan Tipton, Jason Deal and Robby Mason.

John Ownbey would start the main event from the outside of the front row by virtue of his win in the second heat race ahead of Riley Hickman, Jordan Rodabaugh, Will Roland and Justin Shipley.

At the start of Sunday’s 40-lap feature it was Ownbey who bolted from the outside of the front to take the early lead ahead of Hiett, Hickman, Brannon and Rodabaugh. However, Rodabaugh quickly worked to move forward as he took fourth away from Brannon on the second circuit.

The first caution flag of the day waved on the third lap for Mason. On the ensuing restart it was Hickman who gained the advantage as he grabbed second away from Hiett.

But it would be Hiett who returned the favor by taking second back from Hickman on a lap 11 restart. From that point, the top-3 of Ownbey, Hiett and Hickman went about the business of separating themselves from the rest of the pack.

Disaster befell Hickman on lap 22 when he broke a drive shaft and came to a stop on the track to bring out another yellow flag. On the restart, Roland and Frame made moves as they swept into fourth and fifth respectively.

Rodabaugh seized the runner-up spot by passing Hiett on lap 27 while Frame moved into fourth by getting around Roland.

A lap 29 caution provided Frame with an opportunity to move further up the leader board as he rolled past Hiett for third. Meanwhile, Rodabaugh took a peek under Ownbey in an attempt to wrest the lead of the race away on lap 34 but the No. J0 held the position.

A pair of late cautions for Roland and Brannon proved to not be enough for his pursuers to make a move as Ownbey raced under the checkered flag to claim the victory.

Feature Finish: 1. John Ownbey, 2. Jordan Rodabaugh, 3. Jadon Frame, 4. Jason Hiett, 5. Casey Turman, 6. Justin Litchfield, 7. Jason Deal, 8. Lawson Hill, 9. Robby Mason, 10. Dan Tipton, 11. Justin Shipley, 12. Will Roland, 13. David Brannon, 14. Riley Hickman, 15. Joey Standridge

Comments are closed.