Jensen Ford earns Crate Late Model feature at Volunteer


Jensen Ford led all the way in the Crate Late Model feature

Along with the World of Outlaws Late Model Series, the Volunteer Speedway also staged racing in the Crate Late Model class on Saturday night. At the end of the evening, it was Piney Flats, Tenn. racer Jensen Ford, after recovering from a crash in the same division’s feature on Friday night at 411 Motor Speedway, who came away from the Bulls Gap, Tenn. facility with the $1,500 first prize.

Heath Alvey paced the 30-car field in qualifying when he posted a time of 13.731 seconds around the 4/10 mile clay oval. Ford, Josh Henry, Rusty Ballenger, Logan Roberson, Drew Kennedy, Brandon Williams, Chase King, Tim Byrd and Ross White would line up for the feature along with the pole sitter.

Logan Roberson(17) inside of Rusty Ballenger

At the start of the 25-lap feature it was Ford who immediately jumped into the race lead with Alvey, Ballenger, Henry and Roberson following. Henry moved forward on the second lap as he took third away from Ballenger. Then, Roberson moved in and issued a challenge to Ballenger for the fourth spot, which he seized on lap 5.

A lap 6 caution slowed the pace briefly. On the ensuing restart, Henry moved by Alvey to grab the runner-up position behind Ford.

Heath Alvey(7) and Josh Henry battle for position


Another yellow flag waved on lap 11. Once the racing action resumed Ford began to slip away from the pack while battles were waged behind him. Kennedy charged forward as he passed by Ballenger to take fourth. Later, Greg Martin passed by White to assume sixth place.

While Ford continued to lead Ballenger, Roberson, Martin and White fought for positions within the top-10 as they also worked through slower traffic. But ultimately, Ford had no match as he cruised under the checkered flag to claim the win.

Feature Finish: 1. Jensen Ford, 2. Josh Henry, 3. Heath Alvey, 4. Drew Kennedy, 5. Logan Roberson, 6. Rusty Ballenger, 7. Greg Martin, 8. Ross White, 9. Chase King, 10. Parker Martin, 11. Brandon Williams, 12. Gary Crittenden, 13. Aaron Guinn, 14. Tim Byrd, 15. Eli Beets, 16. Trevor Sise, 17. Greg Huskey, 18. Zach Shannon, 19. Jake Teague, 20. Taran Hurst, 21. Jacob Anderson, 22. Jody Horton, 23. Tyler Smith, 24. Justin Smith



Comments are closed